We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall - not good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We thought we had played it safe by going along and asking to view the room prior to agreeing to stay. We thought if it didn't look very good we'd try somewhere else. It looked really nice... never judge a book by it's cover! We agreed to take the room and here's what happened...

The upside:
* Ground floor room with parking directly outside was great for motorbikes
* Nice looking room
* Super comfy couch
* A/C which worked effectively
* Electric blankets
* TV in both the lounge and bedroom

The downside:
* Upon payment we were advised that there was a small fee if paying by credit card - the room was offered for $96 & was also advertised for this on Wotif - so we provided the staff member with $100 cash to which he informed us he would just take the full $100 as he had no change!
* No room compendium - no info re TV channels or kitchen dual oven/microwave etc
* No complimentary milk or even UHT milk pottles
* Wonky table on a lean
* While there are little water conservation signs up around the room the toilet constantly runs unless you wriggle the button & unfortunately this wasn't just in our room as we heard one of the toilets from upstairs over running for hours as well (yes - we heard this from our room)
* The blanket on the bed was obviously old or overwashed as all the stuffing was crammed into the corners of each section and there was no way to "fluff it" out so had to get a spare blanket out as well
* The bed itself and the pillows were the WORST I have ever paid money to sleep on! Most of the other things I've pointed out would have probably meant that I would have rated this place an average (perhaps) but honestly - after a long day ending in the worst sleep (if any) ever and then this having a huge impact on your ability to enjoy the rest of your weekend away - I can't score it any higher than a poor.

It's such a shame because the place really did look nice and I thought it was going to be a great value spot that we could return to regularly on weekends away - however I would never pay to stay somewhere that you can't get a good nights sleep. Usually most places put a lot of focus on the beds and bedding so I'm not sure what went wrong here!

Room Tip: Ask to lie on the bed for about an hour before agreeing to take the room!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WreckLassRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaSprayPaihia, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear WreckLassRach - I am the new manager at Sea Spray Suites Paihia and have just started this September. You have addressed the issues here which I can only apologize for on behalf of the previous manager. I would like to assure you and future guests that the Heritage Boutique Collection of properties throughout New Zealand strive to provide our guests with the best possible sleep and make you fell that you're somewhere special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
There are newer reviews for Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hi there.

We arrived at The Sea Spray Suites on a Tuesday about 4pm. The Sea Spray stituated is a short easy walk to the main shopping and restaurant area of Paihia.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Parking was ample, so we parked underneath our apartment. Most units don't face the sea. Ours didn't but there was a small sea view from the deck. We had booked The Sea Spray because it had advertised a spa pool. Unfortunately the pool had been serviced that day so was cold until the next day. So it was lovely and clean on the Wednesday. We used the spa both Wednesday and Thursday evenings and had it to ourselves.
The oven is a combination oven. A microwave and conventional. It was very difficult to work out.
We had to request help. The man came promptly and helped work it out with us.
The bathroom was lovely and plenty of hot water and nice and clean. The unit was serviced daily. The bedroom had an electric blanket and TV in the room.
The only unfortunate thing was a dirty coffee cup and plate in the cupboard. Possibly over looked by the cleaner as the unit has a dish washer and the previous people may have unpacked it.
Overall it was a lovely relaxing place to stay for a few days. I would recomend The Sea Spray. Just work the oven out first thing :)

Room Tip: Rooms at from facing the sea would be awesome :)
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank beansupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaSprayPaihia, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Beansupreme - Thank you for taking the time to review Sea Spray Suites. I am glad that we were able to make you stay with us an enjoyable one. Thank you for helping me address an issue with our housekeeping department and we have addressed this and reenforced a training step that appears to have been overlooked. I hope that you will return sometime soon and stay with us again or one of the many Heritage Boutique Collection properties throughout New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a better than expected room. The two bedroom appartment seaview is more than spacious for two couples.
We tried the spa out and this was to die for so pack your togs. A wonderful host has now caused me to consider future business visits here

The only flaw is very pricey wifi, to avoid this buy a sim card from the supermarket as its cheaper to buy data on a cellphone

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaSprayPaihia, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear Clayt0n_nNZ - Thank you for the fantastic review and we are looking forward to being able to offer you another enjoyable stay at Sea Spray Suites, Paihia. I am sorry you found the wifi pricey, but we do offer an free amount daily per device to our guests, before you have to purchase additional wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a seafront apartment with a lovely big deck overlooking the water.The front of house staff were fantastic on arrival and very happy to show us different rooms.Our choice was perfect and were able to enjoy the lovely afternoon sun on the deck.We certainly will be back.Thankyou

Room Tip: Ocean view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LindaAnn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeaSprayPaihia, Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Dear LindaAnn2013 - I am pleased that you had a lovely stay with us at Sea Spray Suites Paihia and we look forward to you visiting us again sometime soon or stay at one of the other Heritage Boutique Collection properties throughout New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Away from the main strip where the wharf is located so relatively quiet from outside noise. Close to Waitangi; tasteful, modern, clean decor and great views from the front appartments but two negatives. You will hear the guests stomping around their wooden floors above you in the front apartments and you will be charged for wi-fi which is out of step with many similar places where wi-fi is free (and increasingly becoming more the norm in NZ) . Fix these two issues and it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bliss43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Bliss43,

Thank you for placing feedback on your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our suites modern and clean. Thank you for your comments regarding the Wi-Fi access; we do offer a free 100MB packet of data daily to all guests, and a small charge of $5 for 500MB from there.

We apologise for any inconvenience created by noise from the suite above. Hopefully this was not too detrimental to your experience.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great quality rooms walking distance from town and set off point for Bay of Islands tours. Very clean and quiet. Kitchenette was well stocked and replenished daily. Hand written welcome note was a nice touch really personalised the service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjntc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Mjntc,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, as it is key to knowing where we can improve, or in your case, where we are succeeding in our efforts.

We hope to welcome you back should you return to Paihia at a later date!

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Although our initial experience of an extremely narrow driveway and a reception at the wrong end of the complex, the rest of our stay was excellent. The view was worth every cent we paid. Looking out to the bay was the highlight of our stay. If there was a downside it was storage. We stayed for 5 nights and literally lived out of our suitcases. There were no dressers for our stuff. But that's minor. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: In the heart of Paihia. Great value and well appointed.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy S, Front Office Manager at Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Fred M,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. I completely understand your comments regarding storage options available in your suite, and this is something which is at the top of our list as we move forward with refurbishments later this year. We are very happy that the view was worth your while, and that most aspects of your stay went according to plan.

We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Paihia.

Kind regards,
Lucy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.3 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection

Address: 138 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Family Hotel in Paihia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £51 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sea Spray Suites Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands. Perfectly located to enjoy the famous Te Ti Beach mid-way between Paihia's charming township and historic Waitangi. Sea Spray Suites, Paihia - Heritage Collection, Bay of Islands ... You're somewhere special when you relax in our self-contained suites. Choose between sun drenched sea view balconies or private courtyards while enjoying the luxury of Heritage. All suites have full kitchens with all the comforts of home. Conveniently located mid-way between Paihia town centre and historic Waitangi Treaty Grounds overlooking Te Ti Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Spray Hotel Paihia
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing