We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food and atmosphere”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #28 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Shellharbour, NSW
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had coffee here during the day and returned for dinner one day last week when we were in Paihia. The wait staff were lovely, very friendly and were definitely on their game. Our waitress Jax was very attentive and managed many tables efficiently. The food was nice, we enjoyed three courses and a bottle of wine, our glasses were refilled as they were emptied and our every need was attended to. The only disappointment was the "death by chocolate" dessert, which was very nice, but definitely wasn't a "chocolate creation" as the menu said.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for this great review. Jax is another of our really professional servers and am delighted that she looked after you so well. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meals with us and have passed on your comments to the kitchen regarding the Death by Chocolate. Thank you for taking the time to post this.
We welcome you back.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    354
    202
    135
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Average food in the middle of PAIHIA!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This place turned out to be a real disappointment. Dodgy prawn starter and basic steak for a main. don't bother going here!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Astrid909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laer11, Owner at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I struggle to understand what you mean by Dodgy. We have an awesome menu with loads of fresh seafood, so please come on in and give us another go.
Kind regards
Lee-Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The location and ambience of this restaurant are second to none. Four of us dined here on a chilly May evening, but the restaurant exuded warmth and welcome. So glad we chose this place - we enjoyed good service and lovely meals at a reasonable price - highly recommended!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nelcums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My family and I went to this restaurant last week and had a wonderful meal and the service was great as well. Great views also. Thanks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous setting, excellent food”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The restaurant and bar sit on the edge of the sea with stunning views towards the islands. We were in the area for 3 nights and ate there twice. On the other day we had a drink, sitting in the warmth of the sun enjoying the views, following a trip round the islands. The food is outstanding as is the service. We would strongly recommend 35 Degree South to people travelling in the area. Gill T

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing