We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 59 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$7 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was quite apparent to us, the reviews by some of the patrons were put on trip advisor to get you to go to another restaurant. It almost scared us off. ALMOST. This place is fabulous. This service was exceptional. The food was perfect and the view and ambiance were magnificent. I had the Salmon and my wife had Kingfish. Both pieces were done perfectly. If you REALLY know anything about great food.... You will love this and not mind paying the price in this beautiful resort town.

Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Mark, we are very pleased to hear that dined with us despite some of the comments you read on Trip Advisor and thank you for your kind words on our food - our seafood really is a must have while in the Bay Of Islands and we trust that you enjoyed your time here. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 630 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wonderful food and service in a great location. We went for a family reunion and found the place accommodated us beautifully.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Fiona, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your family reunion at the restaurant and the food you received was to your liking. Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We discovered this restaurant looking for a quality brunch and discovered a real gem of a restaurant.Situated on the bay side, sunny with stunning views of the Bay of Islands. Top quality establishment with cotton serviettes, immaculate clean toilets with up to date modern hand driers and comfortable seating near the Pier side, Bayside or Aquarium or outdoors on the deck.We had 4 different dishes from the menu that covers small and large appetites as well as adequate meat / fish options.The food overall was freshly prepared and exceptional and delicious.The service was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive.Everything we asked about from the wine cellar to the meals they were able to advise us.Overall both lunch and dinner were thoroughly enjoyable experiences.We rank this restaurant above Alfresco's and the Waterfront and our meals ranked amongst a handful of top eateries out of 20 plus days of touring New Zealand as good foodie lovers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Peter, thank you for writing such a wonderful review - we are very pleased to hear that your experience with us was an enjoyable one. It is wonderful to hear that our front of house team were able to advise you adequately - we feel that thorough knowledge of our menu is important for our team to provide the best customer service possible. We hope that you had a pleasurable trip to the Bay Of Islands. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I dined here on Saturday night after having an entree and drink at their outside area called Alongside(went back for breakfast the next morning).Our mains were very good,I had the lamb shoulder and my wife,pork belly.
The only complaint I would have was there wasn,t enough lighting where we were seated.

Thank Neville R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Hi Neville, thanks very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding lighting and are pleased that you enjoyed your chosen dishes. We hope to see you again. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

私達は予約なしで行きました、かなり混んでいたけれどすぐに席に通してくれて、私達、英語も上手ではありませんが、スタッフはとても親切。料理はNZ一般的に言えば、量は多くないけれどお味は良かったです。またPihiaに行ったら、違うメニューを試してみたいです。

We had dinner here first night in NZ.Restaurant staff were fantastic, friendly, helpful and efficient.
So delicious dinner and nice location.
If I get back to Paihia I would try other menus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank akkots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi there - thank you very much for writing your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal and our hospitality! We hope that you had a wonderful time in Paihia. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing