We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View but average food”

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$7 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went to 35 South for lunch and were a party of four. We had to wait for ages to get served and then longer for the food. It is a good thing that the view and wine were wonderful.
I ordered the chicken thigh cesar salad and it was not what I was expecting. I thought you got more greens in a salad and not just the chicken…
It was not my favorite lunch and I'd probably not go back again based on the other options close by the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chasemarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi there - thank you for providing us with your feedback. Sorry to hear that there was a wait on service, April is a very busy time for us and the rest of town, we are working on better systems to speed up service in our large establishment. Our menu states that the chicken caesar comes with baby cos greens, bacon, anchovies, soft egg & parmesan - we have never before had a complaint of too much chicken but this is something we will mention with the kitchen team. We apologise that this was not to your personal taste. We hope you had a wonderful stay in Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

629 - 633 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

ate at 35 Degrees one night. Location and ambiance was awesome but the mains let me down a little bit. Ordered the seafood platter expecting the WOW factor but was disappointed when it came ashore. Less battered Calamari and more Oysters and fresh fish please.

Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Fred - thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the seafood platter. Our calamari comes served with a salt & pepper crumbed coating and is not battered and oysters and fresh fish both do feature on the dish including our fish of the day and sea run Akaroa salmon fillets. As we get our oysters fresh from the Bay Of Islands sometimes there can be restrictions on picking them and this can effect how many we have to serve however if this was the case it should have been conveyed by our front of house team. We trust you had a pleasant stay in Paihia. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The food was very disappointing to say the least. The seafood was sooo NOT what we expected. The service was poor. The Manager has no concept of 'customer service' not understanding customer satisfaction. The ambiance was very nice. Such a pity! For a high end Restuarent an utter disappointment. Would not recommend at all.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Miks-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to write your review. We have spoken with the manager regarding your experience. The chef checked and tasted the sauce that the mussels are served with while you were dining and found nothing to be wrong with it - the harissa mussels come with lime & mint seasoning and the sauce has strong Moroccan spiced flavors. The mussels themselves are bought fresh and sourced from Northland. While it is perfectly fine not to enjoy what you ordered, we do not follow a policy of making such choices complimentary on your bill and the manager did check the issue with the kitchen. While we always aim to please our diners, we never claim to be a 'high end restaurant' and we apologise that your evening was not to your personal taste. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This restaurant is over the water near the quay. The food was great and wine , beer very good. The bisque was exceptional. Well recommended.

Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Steve, as I have previously mentioned our menu has just been updated so awesome to get such good feedback on a new dish, the bisque - I will be sure to pass this on to our team! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The fish of the day - kingfish with fennel slaw was fabulous. The atmosphere was lovely - we had a window table overlooking the water..

Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi Jillian, thank you for your feedback. Our menu has just changed so getting some response to the new dishes is always great. We are pleased that you enjoyed the Fish Of the Day and that your experience overall was pleasant. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing