We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Views and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar

35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #27 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The perfect spot to watch the Paihia Wharf where boats depart for the islands while you indulge in a meal carefully prepared for you by our fantastic team of chefs while being looked after by our front of house team who just love to make you feel at home. Whether you are after a coffee, a naughty dessert or cake or a full meal pop in and say HI. We are a team who enjoy sharing both their love of food and the Bay of Islands.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Views and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Oysters were yum, smoked Kingi, and then a yummy dessert I had a decadent choc dessert to die for and I still keep thinking about it now. Staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly but not pushy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi Debbie, thank you for providing us with your great feedback. I will be sure to pass it on to the kitchen and front of house teams. Sounds like the dessert you had was our chocolate fondant and we agree it is to die for! We trust you had a pleasant time in Paihia and be sure to call in again on your return. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    345
    195
    128
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

One of the best places to eat in Paihia, Bay of Islands, that is if you like seafood! The restaurant is nicely situated and close to boat trips into the Bay. Our friends had a seafood platter which came on a three tired stand (only ever seen cakes and sarnies on that before) it really looked amazing.

Definitely a place to visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sap55koala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi - thanks very much for writing a lovely review. We are delighted with your feedback. Unfortunately we now serve our platters on large boards since the addition of our outside area Alongside and felt the stands may be difficult to manoeuvre for staff! But still the same seafood. We hope to see you back at the restaurant soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Delicious food, great service. I had the Monteiths Wild Food Challenge Duck with matching Monteiths beer. Would definitely recommend this restaurant!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeMPKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi - We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Wild Food experience and indeed your overall experience at the restaurant. Thank you for providing us with your great feedback and recommendation. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

There were 5 of us travelling on a "girlie weekend" and all of us were really impressed. From the moment we walked in the door and welcomed by our amazing maitre 'd the whole experience was fantastic. The service was brilliant, the food amazing and the location awesome. As we couldn't decide what to eat we all shared a bit of several dishes and every one of them was delicious. the staff were friendly and the service was great - would love to come back next time we visit. I am a travel consultant and will be recommending 35 degrees to all of my clients.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KazNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi there - thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted with your feedback and will be sure to share it with the rest of the team. It was our pleasure to show you our great hospitality and we are pleased the food was to your liking - we hope to see you again and trust you had a pleasant weekend in Paihia. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“La la love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing hospitality from when we walked in. The lady who greeted us also served us. We just dropped in for a beer and snack but will be back for a full dinner now!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
35DegreesSouth, Manager at 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hi there - thank you so much for writing your review - we really appreciate your feedback and are very pleased the team got to show you some great hospitality. We hope you had an awesome dinner. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to 35 Degrees South Aquarium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing