We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast by the water” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansen's Cafe

Hansen's Cafe
Ranked #41 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great breakfast by the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Great breakfast overlooking the bay and good coffee. Good way to start the day especially if you are heading out on a trip to the Hole in the SRock or Dolphin Watching.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    31
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sometimes good sometimes not”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

This place is hard to rate and we ate here 3 times. Once it was great and the other 2x was really awful. The waitress messed up the order (pizza with no nuts) and then offered to pick them off when it arrived with nuts. As I am deadly allergic I declined but she kept picking saying it would be fine. Reluctantly, she got us another pizza.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank carni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“inedible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

The only positive thing I can say is that the view is great bc it's on the water. The seafood chowder was truly inedible. Just a thick, creamy of nastiness with a few microscopic pieces of fish (I think. Who knows what it really was). The waitress was rude and didn't answer a simple question but just walked away. The pizza was soft and floppy over 90% of the crust. Don't go there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gioia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Got sick due to the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I had a pizza at Hansen's Cafe that made me sick. I bought the most expensive pizza with prawns and as we all know, prawns are rather sensitive to how the are kept. Except from that pizza, my friend and I had the same food for the day before, the day of the visit to Hansen's and the day after. Therefore, I can say for sure that the pizza caused the diarrhoea. The grumpy lady at the café didn't want to talk to me about it and didn't show any sympathy when I went there to complain the day after. The only positive thing is the beautiful view from the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victorbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hansen's offer a big breakfast at a very reasonable price. Two of everything and very tasty, with a bottomless cup of coffee as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hansen's Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Hansen's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing