We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of King Wah Restaurant

King Wah Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 57 Restaurants in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Paihia, King Wah Chinese Seafood Restaurant has been at the forefront of the Paihia dining scene for many years.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

dinner buffet is very nice, oysters is fresh and big, only things is if do not eat at same time as tour group,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Berverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We only wish we had tried King Wah earlier on during our visit to Paihia. Following a fishing trip, the skipper let us know that king Wah would cook for us the kingfish we had caught on the trip. For a very reasonable cost, we rolled up the following night (group of 4) and enjoyed a feast of sashimi, sweet and sour fish, a delicious stir fry and battered fish..........so much we were able to share some with a fellow diner to take home.
Jesse (hi Elvis!) and Newton were delightful waiters and made the night a real treat, so good we returned the following night where my husband enjoyed one of the best meals of chilli beef he had eaten and that's saying something
We only wish we had had more time in Paihia to try the buffet which looked great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JANJESSMARIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We ate from the buffet at $27.50 per head
The choice was amazing fresh oysters mussels and salads then the buffet all very fresh and dessert to follow service very friendly and efficient

Helpful?
2 Thank capasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent buffet and great value for money with friendly helpful service. We go their regularly when going to or from Opua and also for special occassions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aperitif4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great find behind the main shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Always nice to find a buffet while travelling. For $27.50 per person we had a choice of cold food that consisted of pacific oysters, shrimps, mussels and salads, then the hot foods that were a selection of asian and indian dishes. Everything I tried was yummy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Wah Restaurant also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to King Wah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing