We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner”
Review of Lip's Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lip's Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Friendly welcome in charming bistro setting with good ambiance. The food was of high quality with an excellent menu choice at good value prices. They do BYO so take a bottle and save a little more as they charge $5 corkage.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IS65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    11
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stopped here for breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed it, the orange juice was freshly squeezed and in a huge glass! The prcies were very reasonable compaedd to the hotel we stayed in. The staff were very friendly and the place had a very welcoming atmosphere.. You can eat in or outside, the menu was varied with great choices. Would definately return here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fish and chips”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Had very nice fish and chips with a glass of wine. Staff were very attentive and did not hurry us even though we were the last in the building.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 31Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Lovely menu choice and very fresh modern take on the food which was delicious. Service was very friendly and we would go there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeannieblumire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Award Winning?????”
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The place looked a bit rustic but the sign out the front states it’s an ‘award winning restaurant’ so in I trotted. Ordered an $8.00 Corona and was told I couldn’t have lime in at as limes were expensive?? Started with some garlic / pesto bread which came out burnt. My fillet steak was poorly cooked and the beef was certainly not a restaurant quality cut (Pack-n-Save do far better), the tempura vegtables were so bad I almost went back to my hotel to fetch my camera. Stodgy, soggy batter of some sort covering god only knows what. I left the lot, pondering if the American girl serving would ask about the meal as she cleared the table, her only comment was “well done”…………….obviously she had eaten there too!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ford_Fairtlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lip's Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing