We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten track but worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lip's Cafe - CLOSED

Lip's Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
St.Austell
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were recommended by friends who had visited some years previous. Excellent service good food and superb specials menu. Don't be put off by the motorway café style of furniture.This café allows byo wine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FrankusSt_Austell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    11
    2
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were returners, we had been here three years ago and we sought it out again - the food is still great, lovely service.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stopped in for breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

The service couldn't be questioned, and the eggs were cooked nicely but $5 for apple juice out of a bottle and iced chocolate that was more like chocolate powder, water and ice threw us off a bit. $8 for a bacon sandwich that was literally bacon in bread. Very average, and a little on the expensive side for what it's worth.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average food but friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had breakfast and the menu sounded good but the food was very average. Coffee was OK and the service was very friendly if bit slow.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank akl_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“terrible!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Whilst on holiday in Pahia, my partner and I decide to dine at Lip's cafe for dinner on Waitangi Day. We had been there before on our last visit, 2 years prior and we both really enjoyed it. so this time we decided to go again. Big Mistake. They were not overly busy. There were a few customers but not hectic. The waitress, who should really retire was getting confused and was running off her feet. There was another girl but she disappeared as quickly as she appeared! This poor lady really needed some help. After waiting approx. 15 mins, we eventually got our menus. We ordered oysters and a chicken salad for entrees. About 10 mins later, the waitress comes back and informs us that the oysters didn't arrive and there were no chicken. So we ordered alternatives. I ordered the beef salad. When I eventually got my entree, the beef was still living, mooing and running around the paddock!! I was appalled! My partner ordered steak which he enjoyed however, I ordered the pork roast with all the trimmings. NO NO NO!! To my horror, it was large chunks of pork on large bed of rocket lettuce, and mash potato and very little of anything else!! This was not a roast!! Trying to get the attention of the waitress was like pulling teeth. She was too busy turning potential customers away and telling them to return in a hour!
However, we did enjoy the evenings entertainment provided but other diners who were also in the same situation as us. Never again!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lip's Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing