We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Freindly Owners and Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ala-Moana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ala-Moana Motel
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Freindly Owners and Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My hubby and I stayed here for two nights from 31st Oct 2013.The owners were so friendly and offered some very helpful advice and anything we needed we just had to ask...Gorgeous view from our studio unit at front of property..Room was very clean and had everything in it we needed..I would recommend this motel to stay in very reasonable prices as walking distance to shops and wharf ..If we ever went back to Paihia this is where we would stay again..Thanks so much for a lovey comfortable stay

Room Tip: Front Studio rooms great waterfront views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope you will keep us in mind if you are planning another trip to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    19
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

On the positive - the lady was helpful. We arrived late in the afternoon and were given a front room at an inflated price, even though winter. Wifi didn't work even though assured it would. WiFi was crucial and service was requested on signing in. The office was eventually offered for wifi access but it was closed at 7:30pm and no answer from anyone.
worse still a plague of ants in the rNOoom and noone to help. the answer in the morning was "Oh that happens all the time" EEkk!!
Bed is in absolute need of replacement, Noisy front room - ear plugs provided.
Location is idyllic.
I would never recommend this to anyone. We felt as though we were intruders on the owners winter holiday and they really didn't want us there. In summer, I can't see much difference other than if you're desperate for a bed at night and don't want to sleep on the beach or use the local backpacker. NOT good

Room Tip: Don't use this unless you have no option. There must be better. Definitely don't take a fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Sorry to hear this guest was so unhappy with the accommodation, considering it is one of the more favoured and least expensive on the waterfront. This guest particularly wanted the front seaview room and were more than happy with the price - which we maintain to this day - so unsure how this could have been considered "inflated". We are an average priced motel there are cheaper & more expensive.
Further, it is always explained to every guest that free wifi reception is less effective the further away from the office. This was not considered a problem at checkin by the guest - they were only concerned with price.
It is mandatory to advise guests to put their food items away in the fridge or in sealed containers as after a hot summer, when the rain comes, the ants will be on the move - this is not uncommon in seaside locations, and we had just had heavy rain.
We are sorry that these guests just did not enjoy their stay, perhaps the weather dampened their spirits?
We work really hard to make people as comfortable as possible during their stay and to ensure they have all they need - within reason. We would have welcomed an opportunity to discuss their concerns at the time in order that we could have recommended alternatives more suitable for them.
NB: This small studio unit on the waterfront has just undergone a refurbishment and is currently our most popular unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Our two night stay in Paihai was very memorable. Our accommodation in the motel was extremely clean, our motel owners very helpful and friendly. I would recommend this motel as very good place to stay if visiting the Bay of Islands or Paihai.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelM_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review - we very much appreciate your kind words and makes our hard work worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had no booking, just a drive-in from the road, lady was happy to show us the room before allocating it to us.very comfortable overnight stay, we were in a front street room and the bed was just o k , may need attention very soon, but clean and quiet.million dollar views with the afternoon drinks and the morning toast. Would return.
Also appreciated that it was fine to leave our car parked on the property while we did a "hole in the rock" cruise ( organised from the motel) overall would return.

Room Tip: The bed in the front right hand room needs replacing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for this lovely review - we have taken on board your comments and this studio unit has now just completed a refurbishment and is much more modern & user friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We stayed in December 2012. The owner was very helpful in securing a last minute booking for us. The accommodation was spotless, so convenient to all the local amenities and the ferry and more than we ever expected! Our hosts gave us advice on what to do and where to eat. It was the ideal home for a perfect occasion. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review, we really appreciate your comments and hope you have the chance to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innisfail, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed at Ala Moana for three nights in January 2013. The owners came to greet us as soon as we arrived - we had no booking but they found us a room straight away. Although not 5 star, The rooms were spotless - so clean. The price was very reasonable, especially considering the location. They even booked our tours for us, after going through them and helping us decide - and added the cost onto our room charge. They also suggested some other things to do during our stay that we found very enjoyable, and even let us borrow their towels to take out on our tour! I would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Awesome comments - thank you so much for taking the time to review - it makes our hard work worthwhile!
We trust the rest of your holiday was as perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed at Ala Moana ther nights in january 2013 on our tour around NZ. We just wlaked in from the street and meet a really nice and friendly owner couple. The apartment was newly refurbished and nice. No luxury but relly god for its price.
We had a nice veranda and wiev over the bay. Abslouly worth staying at!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tottelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you - we appreciate your fine comments and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayview Motel
Bayview Motel
#29 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.7 mi away
Bay of Islands Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala-Moana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala-Moana Motel

Property: Ala-Moana Motel
Address: 52 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ala-Moana Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best waterfront location in central Paihia, surrounded by an abundance of historical sites, cafes & good restaurants, shops, wharf, bus depot & all the water based excursions & fishing boats are just across the road. Waitangi - our birth place, is a short walk along the foreshore. The beach is at our gate!Our apartments have recently been refurbished, are of solid construction and strictly non-smoking, they are clean, warm, comfortable & quiet. Book direct for best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ala-Moana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala-Moana Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing