We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Ala-Moana Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ala-Moana Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I visted the Bay of Islands out of season in November 2009 and was made very welcome for my 2-night stay at Ala Moana. This was part of a 3 month trip through NZ, Oz and Indonesia so I experienced many different hotels during the trip. The owner-managers at Ala Moana were extremely helpful, booking local tours for me in advance, storing luggage until I left for the airport etc. They also warned me that the bar next door was having a music evening on the night I arrived and offered me a differerent room. I stayed with the room with the view, and the bar closed at 11pm, so no real problem.

The rooms were clean and well kept - though the styling was a little dated - and my only slight complaint was the need to go nearer the reception for internet access - though on the plus side, this was free. It would have been more convenient if internet access had been reliable in the room, but overall this is a great place to stay. You are right opposite the beach, with views over to Russell. The ferry and tour boats depart from the pier just 2 minutes walk away, and all the town restaurants and bars are within walking distance. I also enjoyed the mile or so walk out to the Waitangu treaty grounds and back. The Bay of Islands is truly beautiful and Ala Moana was a great base to explore it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Ala-Moana Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2010

We recently spent six nights at the Ala-Moana Motel and our experience there was faultless. Our apartment was extremely spacious, immacutlately clean and fresh and fully serviced each day; soft white towels and crisp white sheets were just lovely. It was comfortable, quality, and nice to return to each day.

Our hosts, Martin & Lynette were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. They both worked tirelessly to ensure that our stay was a happy one. They also have a fountain of local knowledge for restaurants, fishing spots, local activities, culture and history. They were incredibly warm and friendly, without question.

The location of this motel is unbeatable, it is situated on the waterfront and we were fortunate enough to experience clear blue skies and crystal clear water and beautiful views from the motel. It is a very short stroll to local restaurants and bars, shopping strip and facilities, the marina and watersports. It is also a very short drive to experience cultural and historic places in the Paihai area and a short ferry trip to the town of Russell.

We also made use of the motel BBQ, it was lovely to cook our fish and dine alfresco at the motel. The guest laundry was a great bonus. All together great value for money.

We enjoyed our stay at Ala-Moana Motel and would return in a heartbeat! It completely exceeded all our expectations and I wish we were still there now....

To anyone visiting Paihai, don't hesitate to stay at the Ala-Moana Motel, you'll not be disappointed.

Leesa & Brett

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnH0liday2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

It was suggested by Corino Dolphin tours that I stay at this motel. I had purchased a room at Swiss Chalet but could save $50 over 2 nights if I switched to Ala-Mohana. The managers said it was across from where we would catch the boat, and I didnt want my mom to have to walk a long way. What was not told to us was there is a BAR next door. The rooms have been converted and they were nice enough, with 2 couches in the LR, and a queen in the bedroom. at $150 a night, can't they put in shampoo or conditioner? After the manager let us in, we never saw them again. I could not find the wash machines, we could not get cable in our room, so my daughter had to sit up on the managers driveway to get access. The first night, there was a party in the small house adjacent to the motel and behind the bar that was very loud. The second night was Karioke at the Bar till 11, and I could feel the vibrations through our wall. Noone could sleep through that. I find that the woman who owns Corino Tour Boat gets to park her car during the day at the motel, so the recommendation is a trade off. So, if you need a place during the weekend, stay further down the road..

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debdowah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owners at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2009

As owners of the property, we are upset that we were not given an opportunity to address these issues on site at the time. However, we would like to do so now that we have been made aware of them.

Yes, we do have a bar & restaurant at the foot of our driveway most of the time this is a positive, and rarely gives us cause for angst. Unfortunately they did have a karaoke night on this occasion, which all guests were made aware of in advance. It was also unfortunate that this guest was sleeping in the lounge and though it's a stretch of the truth to say the walls were vibrating, considering all the walls are concrete and the distance to the apartment in question, we do concede that on this occasion it could have been annoying for a period.
With regard to the party next door, it was a family birthday party, yes there were more people than usual, but this is could happen anywhere, anytime and something out of our control.

The other issues - not seeing us; our office is part of our home, we live here and available 24/7.
As far as the referral by Carino, we resent the implication that our generosity in allowing them, ExploreNZ & the local Community Patrol to park here, is for our benefit. With parking at a premium on the central Paihia waterfront, we allow these companies to use our park as we have ample, and for no other reason. Carino recommended us because of our location and our reputation as a clean, inexpensive & well operated business.

We thank this person for her comments but would have much preferred they were addressed personally, in order that we could have had the opportunity to rectify them for her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Spent 2 nights in March 2008 at the Ala-Moana and enjoyed it very much. I had the small studio at the front facing the water and road which has a small fish pond and garden which was just perfect for relaxing. The room had everything I needed including kitchen and huge sliding door looking out over the bay.
My business brought me again to New Zealand in March 2009 . This trip was twice the length of the 08 trip so I had more off time to be a tourist. When deciding what to do with my second week end in NZ, I decided to again stay at the Ala-Moana, this time for 4 nights. I took the larger studio at the front this time and enjoyed the visit even more than the previous year, though the weather had something to do with that. Again I had my private garden to relax in as well as neighbors in the adjoining suite that were very friendly and frequent visitors of this same motel.
The owners are wonderful. Very helpful and knowledgeable on the area and attractions. The location is possibly the best in the town. It has bars and restaurants right next door and a short walk to the wharf or the main part of town. Being from Canada where we drive on the wrong side of the road, I appreciated just parking my car beside my room and having everything I needed within a short walk from the motel. If I make it back to New Zealand, I will certainly spend some time at the Ala-Moana Motel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We stayed at Ala-Moana for just the one night - and both agreed that we wished we had allowed more time to stay in the area.
We stayed in the little studio right at the front and we were able to sit out in the sun in the early evening drinking wine and chatting to the owner and passers by!

The unit was spotlessly clean and had all the facilities we required. The welcome was very friendly as was the help and advice on visiting the treaty grounds plus where to go for drinks/dinner.
The location, being both on the esplanade and walking distance to the wharf and town centre is just perfect.

We would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owners at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2008

Many thanks for taking the time to post such positive feedback. Much appreciated - thanks. We hope you, your family & friends have any opportunity to visit us in the beautiful Bay of Islands of New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2008

We spent 3 nights at the Ala-Moana Apartments on the esplandade at Pahia, the Bay of Islands. The owners were the most helpful people I have ever met. The Units were immaculately cleaned every day. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location is about 100 metres from the wharf area where all of the trips to the Bay of Islands arrive and depart, which made it a very convenient place to stay. Within walking distance of all restaurants and the town centre. I would definitely recommend the Ala-Moana to anyone.

1  Thank janieNambourQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwigirlBayofIslands, Owner at Ala-Moana Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2008

Thank-you for a great review. It's awesome to read that the hard work & committment by ourselves and our staff, is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Milkibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
0.3 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ala-Moana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala-Moana Motel

Address: 52 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: £44 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ala-Moana Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best waterfront location in central Paihia, surrounded by an abundance of historical sites, cafes & good restaurants, shops, wharf, bus depot & all the water based excursions & fishing boats are just across the road. Waitangi - our birth place, is a short walk along the foreshore. The beach is at our gate!Our apartments have recently been refurbished, are of solid construction and strictly non-smoking, they are clean, warm, comfortable & quiet. Book direct for best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ala-Moana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ala-Moana Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing