We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely falls in a peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haruru Falls

Haruru Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.20*
and up
Haruru Falls and Waitangi River Tour on a Traditional Maori Waka with Guide
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Paihia
Attraction details
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
297 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Lovely falls in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We parked in the nearby carpark and did the very short (approx. 60 seconds) walk to the falls. It was very peaceful & was just a quick stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarah53187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    501
    396
    62
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Take your Togs”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A lovely place to visit with a beautiful waterfall and swimming area. The only regret we had is that we did not take our swim costumes (togs) as it was a beautiful day and the water looked so inviting. When you get there you walk through a car park with chickens running around freely and a path leading down to the falls which is only about 20 metres long before you arrive at the falls. Another beautiful natural attraction. Easily assessable from the township of Paihia only a short 3km drive out from town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lambie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long walk”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I found the 5k walk one way, too much, driving to the falls was much better, falls not at their best because of lack of rain. ok.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANET G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Haruru Falls”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My friend and I got there when it started to get dark so we didn't get to see the best view of the falls but it felt good to hear and see some water after a loooong drive! The track to waitaingi ground is good as well.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carissahwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Accessible and pretty”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is no remote waterfall. You can drive up to it and it's in the middle of a little town. But it's still very pleasant and you can get very close. It's not a huge waterfall but it's still quite impressive. You can have a little picnic right there and walk out right to the face. Worth a quick and easy look.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haruru Falls also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Haruru Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing