We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #26 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We selected this b and b on the basis of the great recommendations and we were not disappointed! Ken and Carol are great hosts and made us feel very welcome in their house.The location is stunning and very convenient for all the attractions of Rotorua. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
74
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a great stay at this B&B. It was very comfortable and our son had his own captain's style bunk room and bath. The views of the lake are beautiful. The hosts were terrific and provided nice meals and tea time snacks. They have kayaks. It was very quiet and private location, yet it was only about 10 minutes from the town of Rotorua.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teachertraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

One of our favorite days in Rotorua included several hours simply lounging on the back porch taking in the view. Right on the lake, The Lake House is really lovely. Ken and Carol are great hosts and are quite informed on options and things to do in and around town.

We loved our stay, the hot tub, and the chance to kayak around the lake. A definite recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Lakehouse and wish we had booked an extra night just to be able to relax in such a beautiful place. We couldn't have asked for more: lovely hosts, delicious food, all our needs taken care of. Especially loved the hot tub overlooking the lake. Be sure to take a dip in the lake....something about the water made it a mystical experience. Felt like I was swimming in silk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent two lovely days with Ken and Carol at their home in Rotorua. They are two warm and inviting people who were happy to help us in any way they could. They gave us lots of suggestions of what to see in our limited time and helped us map a route to Auckland from where we would eventually fly back home. Facilities at the Lake House were amazing. We had use of kayaks, an indoor spa and, of course, the ability to swim in the lake. Weather would not allow us to make full use of the lake - too cold and windy outside. But we took full advantage of the spa. What luxury! Breakfast was delicious and totally filling. Carol made us hot breakfasts of our choice each day. Thank you so much, Ken and Carol, for inviting us into your home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Warm, welcoming, "home-away-from-home." Our large room was immaculate and comfortable with an expanse of windows to view the beautiful lake. Excellent quality breakfast menu - different every morning - snacks, drinks and fruit always available. We thoroughly enjoyed Carol and Ken's company and interesting conversations. Their suggestions for touring the Rotorua area provided us with many opportunities to organize our time to enjoy the diversity of the local area. Beautiful grounds - what a find!
Carol and Pat
Placerville, CA

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolnPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We recently spent 2 relaxing nights in this wonderful bed and breakfast on the lake at Rotorua. Our hosts Carol and Ken were fantastic, wonderful conversation and they couldn't do enough for us. Plenty of good suggestions about what to see in the area and nothing was a bother. The breakfasts were wonderful and the views of the lake are amazing (both from our room, the patio and at breakfast). The room was of a very high quality and beautifully kept in this beautiful bnb. We would recommend The Lake House to anyone going to Rotorua. It is high quality accommodation, the property is a credit to Carol and Ken.
Many Thanks
Norelle and Mark

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotorua
6.9 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
406 reviews
3.6 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 55 in Rotorua District
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#14 of 92 in Rotorua
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Property: The Lake House Rotorua
Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lake House Rotorua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lake House Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing