We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2010

We have recently returned from our holiday in New Zealand and stayed with Ken and Carol for 2 nights on 6 & 7 March 2010, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing was too much trouble for them. We were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and home made scones, which i just loved !!. Their house was immaculate and the location was absolutely spectacular, right on the lake.
Ken even took me for a game of golf at his own club. be careful if you play him, he's a shark !!
Nothing was too much trouble for Ken and Carol and they provided advice and guidance on what to see and what not to see.
The breakfast was excellent, everthing you needed to last the day
You will not be disappointed if you stay here

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our hosts, Carol & Ken have the most beautiful place on the water and our stay was truly fantastic!
Our room was quite spacious with a large picture window overlooking their vast backyard complete with beautiful gardens and of course the water.
There was glass doors from our room opening onto the porch, where one could sit and watch the water, take a walk on the beach or enjoy sitting in their hot tub!
In the hallway, you will find a small beverage area to make a cup or tea or coffee. There is also a small frig. A thank you to Ken & Carol for allowing us to watch the last part of the Canadian opening Olympics on their large screen. Both are very accommodating hosts and will assist you with your travelling plans, so that you truly enjoy your stay in the Rotorua area. We stayed two evenings with them and went to a Maori event one evening. Unfortunately, the bus forgot to pick us up and Ken very dutifully took us over there and we returned by bus. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We took a 3 week trip to Australia and New Zealand to celebrate our 5th anniversary. Rotorua was our last destination and we are so glad we chose to make that stop. This is the first time we have stayed at a B&B and it is the best decision in choosing the Lake House.

Ken and Carol are such wonderful hosts! Carol showed us to our room so we can settle in. We then joined them in the living room for afternoon tea and were chatted forever like we were visiting old friends! The most wonderful touch was that Carol made me dairy free banana muffins since I told her about my dietary choice. I took the recipe home with me.

We stayed at the Tahi room at the Lake House for 2 nights. It has a full bathroom. The house is very clean and the room is spacious with a beautiful view out to the lake. Location is away from the city center where the sulfur smell is in town which we prefer and it is very quiet and relaxing.

Carol showed us the hot tub room and kayaks that we can use. Since we were here for a short 2 night stays, we didn't have a chance to use it. But the lake view from the house is just wonderful at this quiet location.

Reservation was easy and we paid upon departure. Ken let us use their computer in the living room office whenever we like. We were able to watch TV in the evening in the living room as well since we go to bed late. Carol not only gave us affordable car rental suggestions, she made suggestions on things to do during our 2 night stay in Rotorua before heading back home to the US. From geothermal parks visits to off-roading to Kerosene creek for a natural thermal spring soak for free. Carol even arranged our Mitai maori show reservation for the evening we arrived at the Lake House. We enjoyed the Hangi meal, Maori performance as well as the kiwi bird viewing at Rainbow Springs after the show.

Breakfast was always plenty, toasts, english muffins with eggs cooked to order, variety of jams and spreads, mixed fruit salad, coffee, hot tea, orange juice, and the wonderful company of the hosts to chat with. We could have easily sit around the breakfast table and enjoy the company all day without going anywhere.

The pictures tell all. The Lake House looks as it shows on the photos on their web site. We are now worried that we will never be able to stay at any other B&B that will meet the same standard as the Lake House. And we told ourselves that if all B&B's are like our Lake House experience, we will always stay at B&B.

If you're visiting Rotorua and looking for a place to stay, you will not regret your choice!

Thank you Ken & Carol for making us at home and we wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs.Cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Ken and Carol were delightful hosts and great company, with nothing too much effort. They provided us with good tips and advice about the area, and made us feel very much at home. Although outside the centre of Rotorua, it is a short, easy drive in, and the calm of the lakeside setting was preferable to the city centre. We never got to use the hot tub or kayaks which was a shame!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuttonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

After two months at NZ and 17 B&B (all 4, 4+ and 5*), the Lake House was simply the best. Beautiful Hosts, very comfortable room, really a home from home.
The B&B is located outside of Rotorua, but directly along the lakeshore. Very quiet, about 5 to 8 minutes to drive to the city center. Nearby is a very good restaurant, only three minutes to walk.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed with Carol and Ken for two nights in the Tahi room. We were made very welcome with home made scones and great breakfasts. Ken was very helpful with some advice which made the best use of our time in visiting locations in the vicinity. The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. We went swimming in the lake at the bottom of the garden and finished up in the hot-tub - what could be better? A fabulous place to stay - wish we had known about The Lake House earlier- we would have stayed longer! The restaurant almost next door is also excellent - we had a terrific meal and drinks and the facility of a short walk home!

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Steel_City_Smithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

From the moment I arrived Ken and Carol did their best to make me feel at home and to help me enjoy Rotorua. Carol provided delicious breakfasts and tea and cake every afternoon and Ken helped me make the most of my time in the area with suggestions about where to visit and how to get there; he even provided me with a route to my next place. They are both very friendly and never seem too busy for a chat or to provide help. Lake house is a lovely house beautifully located by the lake within easy reach of the centre of Rotorua, the hot tub must be the one with the best view in New Zealand. One of the friendliest places I stayed in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotorua
4.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
0.1 mi away
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 55 in Rotorua District
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
3.3 mi away
Koura Lodge
Koura Lodge
#10 of 52 in Rotorua
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £114 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing