We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW FACTOR”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lake House Rotorua
Ranked #34 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Having just returned from an 8 week trip, I wanted to say that The Lake House run by Carol & Ken was the best B&B we stayed in during our entire trip. The place is beautiful, set by the side the the lake (we did take a dip and it was great), the room was perfect and the veranda - a fabulous place to sit and relax with a bottle of wine. The breakfasts were amazing - especially Carol's French Toast - my mouth is watering with the thought of it. I wish we had stayed more than 2 nights!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nula82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2011

We had a memorable stay with Carol and Ken. They have a beautiful property and are very conscientious about the upkeep of the place. Being right on the lakefront, its a lovely view and they offer kayaks to the guest as well.
They also have a separate mini spa room which would be relaxing after a long day of lovely walks which the city has offer. They were very helpful in providing ideas for looking around Rotorua depending on the kind of acitivites we were looking for.
This is a must stay if in Rotorua, it is a bit away from the main town area which helps you avoid the sulphur smells and at the same time is quite centrally located with the respect to the activities around.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sandhya_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakeHouse, Owner at The Lake House Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Carol keeps a lovely house, spotlessly clean in a very quiet situation.
Spacious room, very tasteful and very good bed and bathroom linen.
Pretty garden with large lawns leading down to - very swimmable - lake front with superb views across to the volcano island.
Best of all, fantastic hosts in Ken and Carol, with nothing too difficult and great tips for sightseeing that went way beyond the standard stuff - real local knowledge that made a difference.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keystonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLakeHouse, Owner at The Lake House Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2011

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Conveniently located away from town's sulphur smell, but still only a few minutes from town. Beautiful lake views and outstanding landscaping. The rooms are clean and quite. The breakfasts are great; hot breakfast everyday. Carol and Ken could not have been more welcoming or friendly. They were quite helpful recommending activities and supplying directions.
WiFi available for free or they will allow use of their computer and phone. The hot tub is brilliant. They have kayaks which we didn't use because it was a little too cold. Would definitely stay there again if near Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtr111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We had a lovely 3 night stay with Carol & Ken in April this year & thoroughly enjoyed our time with them. Our room was pristine with crisp white bed linen & lakeside views to greet us in the morning. The only slight downside was the lack of an ensuite bathroom, though I understand this is being remedied as I write.
The spa facility looked good, though we didn't have time to use it as we were out touring the area for most of the time, but amenities were good, incuding hot drinks all day and free internet much appreciated. We felt quite at home around the house, especially as we hail from the same part of England as our hosts & immediately bonded with them.
Breakfasts were great, served in the lovely dining room overlooking the lake and Carol kindly gave us her recipe for Crab Apple Jelly, which we are about to try having just picked our first crop at home.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and we'd certainly stay again on a future NZ trip. Sorry for the late review - been waiting for the apples! Thanks for being such great hosts.

Anne & Jeff Jones
Lincs UK

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j5ffj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is a stunningly positioned B&B right on the edge of Lake Rotorua, and well outside the sulphur smell zone, but with easy car access to Rotorua. We were made very welcome and the two bedrooms are very comfortable, with direct views over the lake (plus the spa bath room, again with fabulous views). Carol and Ken gave us lots of advice on local things to see/walks etc., which was very useful in taking us away from the standard routes. Plenty of parking. We stayed 3 nights and could have doubled it if we had time. As ever in New Zealand, wonderful breakfasts. Thanks so much for a wonderful few days with you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

If you plan to overnight near Rotorua, we would definitely recommend this comfortable B&B. During our 4 weeks vacation in february this year, we stayed 2 nights in Lake House. Ken and Carol made us feel home beacuse of their warme welcome and great hospitality. Both days we were invited in their living room to join them for tea and home-baked cake. Tourist information, maps and telephone calls to book trips were provided with great service. And apart from the personal attention, the B&B is clean and comfortable and has a large garden with a stunning view on the lake (which we explored by using Ken and Carols private kajaks). No doubt, we would recommend this place to everybody who searches for a warm welcome and a convenient place to stay near Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotorua
4.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
5.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
0.1 mi away
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
Tickled Trout Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 55 in Rotorua District
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cedarwood Lakeside
Cedarwood Lakeside
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
3.3 mi away
Koura Lodge
Koura Lodge
#10 of 52 in Rotorua
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake House Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake House Rotorua

Address: 6 Cooper Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £112 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lake House Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the grandeur of this prestigious lakeside home, tastefully restored to meet every requirement of the 21st century. Wireless internet, Sky TV, DVD and Bose surround sound, all in the comfort of the splendid lounge. Stay in one of the delightful queen size bedrooms. Quiet nights and still mornings make The Lake House the right choice. Relax and unwind with a drink on the veranda or in the indoor spa pool - both overlook the lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing