We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B -- even better hostess!!!”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed with Vivien and her family for two days in February during our honeymoon. We had planned a number of activities for each day, and while we thought we did a good job scheduling our time, Vivien kicked it up a notch! She helped us make the most of our time there by suggesting and even booking activities such as horseback riding, excellent restaurants, a spa, a nearby redwoods hike within walking distance, and a little-known glow-worm hike, which was privately guided by her very knowledgeable husband, Peter.
The location was convenient, breakfast was tasty and always prompt, and the atmosphere was extremely relaxed and friendly. In short, we loved it and highly recommend staying here if you're traveling through New Zealand!

Room Tip: Koru Room was comfortable with a great view!
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonathanAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for B&B @ The Redwoods
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2011

The Redwoods was a great B&B on all accounts. Vivian and Peter provided everything for us...private living quarters with TV and unlimited internet, 2 lovely bedrooms with private baths, private entry, spotless quarters, beautiful backyard, delicious breakfasts and mid-afternoon snacks, made reservations for dinner for us, even offered to do our laundry!! Accommodations were new and trendy and Vivian gave great suggestions about places of interest in the area. If you go to Rotorua, this is a perfect place to stay, and close to the beautiful Redwoods.

Room Tip: Ask if they have internet services.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrstnlttl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

For details, see all the other reviews. But in brief, excellent location (a walk in the Redwoods after the drive down from Auckland is just the thing to help unwind), excellent host (in addition to offering spot-on guidance to places to eat and things to do/see, Vivienne is just charming to talk with), excellent venue. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

A very nice and quiet location on the road to the incredible coloured lakes. It's an easy stroll to the Redwoods. Vivien takes really good care of her guests and breakfadst was reaaky good!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wesmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The redwood is positioned near the "Redwood" forest, hence its name. It is a residential area and is ideally sited for walks in the nearby woods. The B & B is is on the edge of the town and there is a small car journey into the cente of the town.

The bedrooms were very comfortable and Viv supplied an excellent breakfast. She was able to give us excellent advice on places to visit in the area and booked us local nights out.

I would recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerbyRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The accomodation was modern bright and very comfortable. We had the use of the lounge with free internet. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and NZ in general and provided us with useful tips on places to visit locally.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kittencat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Hostess Viv is friendly to everyone, and her husband Peter equally so. Viv joins you at breakfast and keeps the conversation going even while providing a delicious full breakfast, toast, tea, coffee, and all the standards.

The room was spacious and comfortable and looked out on a pleasant green backyard shared only with the hosts and the few other guests. In a pleasant surprise, the shower contained large bottles of body wash, shampoo, and conditioner so that we wouldn't need to waste the packaging of the tiny hotel-sized items.

It was a brief drive to Rotorua proper, and a minute drive (or a pleasant walk) to small nature preserve featuring imported redwoods (for which the B&B is named) mixed with some other foreign and local trees. It was a great place for a morning walk.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PASchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.4 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £97 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing