We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in the redwoods”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

What a wonderful feeling of welcome we experienced from Vivian! The accommodations are spacious, very clean and cozy at the same time. We hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailorHR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (515)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 370 of 515 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2011

Amazing hospitality @ B&B The Redwoods. Thank you Vivian for all your great advices and suggestions what to do in and round Rotorua. Your are surlely an expert. Appreciate it! Besides your amazing hospitality definitely to mention the nice and clean room, comfortable bed and yummy breakfast. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every part of it. Vivian is a wonderful host whith a world of knowledge for the entire area. She gave us many recommendations and even a few discount coupons for th e activities we chose. Take the 1 hour drive to see Hobbiton film site. It's absolutely beautiful even if you're not a lotr fan. Great breakfasts and a lot of person attention make this a unique place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We originally had booked for 1 night, but Vivien gave us such great advice about where to go, what to do (and more importantly what not to do) and where to eat that we stayed for an extra night. It was great to be on the outskirts of Rotorua but with easy reach of attractions and restaurants. We especially enjoyed going to The Landing at Lake Tarawera. Great atmosphere, great room and breakfast was a super start to the days. It was our last 2 nights in New Zealand and they were very special. Thank you. Denzil & Lottie from the UK

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denzil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The B&B is run by Vivien, who lives up to her name because she is Vivacious and is an absolute expert on the local area. Her #1 goal in life is to make sure you have a fabulous stay and provides a personal orientation on local sights as soon as you've completed settling into your comfortable room with a dreamy bed and thick-pile carpet with a view out the sliding doors onto the deck and the greenery beyond. The shower was spacious and the water pressure was excellent. The towels were luxurious. The walls between rooms were thick so it was very quiet. Vivien will give you her opinions on what to see and what to exclude and hands out brochures and maps and also makes reservations to make one's vacation stay more relaxing. Breakfast takes place in a spacious fully separated common area just a few steps from the two nearly identical guest bedrooms. The common area contains both a large dining table in one section and a separate reading area which can also double as a place to utilize your laptop (mine is giant 18.3" Toshiba desktop replacement machine with a separate Microsoft Natural Keyboard) with the included high-speed WiFi service easily connected and an AC plug nearby. Just make sure you bring your international plug adapter to fit the New Zealand sockets which are in a different configuration from USA sockets but are the same as in the UK. You can also place Skype calls worldwide from your laptop as necessary around the clock. Signal strength was perfect in the common area. Vivien makes an excellent full English breakfast with all the trimmings and one of the huge advantages of bed & breakfast visits is the interesting people one meets during a stay. We had the opportunity to meet one couple from Switzerland on one day and a couple from South Africa on the next. Parking is easy and on the premises, a few steps from the entrance. The B&B is only about two miles from the center of town and right around the corner from a giant stand of California coastal redwood trees which are as tall and plentiful as the ones at Muir Woods north of San Francisco. It really is true that the B&B avoids the sulfur smell which permeates other sections of Rotorua due to the presence of the Yellowstone-type geysers and hot springs in the area. To be honest, I cannot think of one thing negative to say about our experience. It was terrific!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had the most wonderful weekend in Rotorua in early September. The weather was perfect and Vivien was just so helpful - suggesting bike tracks for us and recommending an excellent thermal pool for our weary bones! Her hospitality is first class and her breakfasts are renown. We thought our bedroom was very smart and we'd love to come and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welly18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We stayed at Redwoods while touring the North Island. It was a comfortable, quiet and peaceful place to stay. A friendly host with plenty of advice on what to see nearby!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndreaandMarkinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 53 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
4.5 mi away
City Lights Boutique Lodge
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £94 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing