We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway for mountain biking and other activities in Rotorua!”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great getaway for mountain biking and other activities in Rotorua!”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed with Vivien and Peter in B&B@The Redwoods for 5 nights early in Dec 2011, and really enjoyed our stay. One of our priorities for the trip was to sample the mountain biking trails in the nearby Whakarewarewa forest, which are within easy riding distance from the B&B. Peter is a keen mountainer himself, and took me out on the trails for a couple of hours the first morning I was there, which was an excellent intro to the tracks and general area (he's also a keen night rider if you have your lights with you). The bikes and equipment were securely stored at the B&B, and everything you need for biking (rentals, tools, tires, shop, etc) are available just across the street in Outdoorsmen Headquarters. A bakery and cafe are conveniently located on either side of this shop. The B&B is conveniently located with respect to the airport, and Vivien provides plenty of information on all the local attractions. All in all, we really enjoyed our time in Rotorua thanks to B&B@The Redwoods

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shergall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
72
337
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a lovely stay at The Redwoods. Vivien & Peter were extremely welcoming and did everything to make our holiday easier in the three days we were with them. The room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious (and accompanied by some lovely chats!). The B&B is just outside central Rotorua, but this was never a problem and it was only a couple of minutes drive into town - in fact, we were almost certainly better off for being just outside!

The only single down note is that the television in the bedroom has extremely poor reception (as to be unwatchable on all but one channel) - Vivien explained that this was generally an issue in the area and, to be honest, we had far more exciting things to be doing that sitting in our room, watching tv!

All in all, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Vivien is indeed the most warming and hospitable host whom I have met so far. She gave very good recommendation on activities and places to eat based on your interests. The room and lounge area are very clean and cozy. Although wireless connection only works effectively in the lounge, we were fine with that as we still had our own privacy. Kudos to Vivien for making the effort to compensate this little flaw by having an ipad in the lounge for guests to use.

Breakfast is delicious and thanks for the effort to make the chinese-style half-boiled eggs for us.

Location is good as it is a mere 5-15 minute drive from all good spots in Rotorua.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_tong20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The situation just outside Rotorua is fine. You will need the car to drive into the town, but let’s face it, you have the car anyway if you are staying here. Vivienne was very welcoming as soon as we arrived giving us lots of advice as to where to visit. Admittedly my husband had stayed in Rotorua several times and knew most of the places but it was good to get tips anyway. The room was lovely – large, well equipped and clean. It also led onto the back garden via some wooden steps which was really nice. It was good to have a small table and chairs there as well to sip wine at in the evening sun. The breakfast was lovely – you can choose exactly what you want rather than just a standard menu. We were also treated to some homemade cake and cream when we came home early one afternoon. All in all a very welcoming and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purplepixie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

What a wonderful feeling of welcome we experienced from Vivian! The accommodations are spacious, very clean and cozy at the same time. We hope to come back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailorHR40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Amazing hospitality @ B&B The Redwoods. Thank you Vivian for all your great advices and suggestions what to do in and round Rotorua. Your are surlely an expert. Appreciate it! Besides your amazing hospitality definitely to mention the nice and clean room, comfortable bed and yummy breakfast. Hope to see you again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed every part of it. Vivian is a wonderful host whith a world of knowledge for the entire area. She gave us many recommendations and even a few discount coupons for th e activities we chose. Take the 1 hour drive to see Hobbiton film site. It's absolutely beautiful even if you're not a lotr fan. Great breakfasts and a lot of person attention make this a unique place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,237 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing