We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

My fiancé and I stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time at Vivien and Pete's BnB. Vivien was an invaluable source of information for everything. She basically became our "tour operator" and helped us with everything - restaurants, tours, excursions, etc. If we ever come back to Rotorua we will 100 percent stay at their place again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
320
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great location for exploring the area.
Vivien is a great hostess, really acomodating and a great source of insideinformation to the area.

The rooms are great and the breakfast sets you up for the day especially the pancakes. And she knows how to fills up a teenage boy (and girls).

You are right next to the redwood forest which is a must do - spectacular

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PommieAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Vivien was a great host and we couldn't have asked for more comfortable rooms. This was our first BandB experience in NZ and it really set high standards for the remaining part of our stay. The rooms were modern with heaters and an attached bath, and very very clean. Our host was super helpful, kind and welcoming. She was very accommodating regarding our children and our requests and gave us very useful and relevant advice regarding eating out, and things to do around rotorua, even helping with the bookings. The tea and breakfast she served us was better than anything we would have had in a big hotel. We only wish we had more time in rotorua and at viviens!

Room Tip: If you are more than 4 people please use hot water sparingly as the tank runs out of hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mridula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Traveling from San Diego in early December, I met my daughter in Queenstown, New Zealand upon the completion of her semester of study in Sydney, Australia. During our sixth day in New Zealand, we arrived at the downtown Rotorua info center to get directions to B&B @ The Redwoods and were initially surprised in this city with so many lodging options that the woman we spoke to immediately knew the location and assured us that we would truly enjoy our "wonderful hosts." Vivien Cooper had been very helpful in responding to my email inquiries prior to our trip. Then immediately upon our arrival for our two night stay, Vivien and Peter Cooper made us feel welcome like "family" resulting in our visit to Rotorua becoming one of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand. As soon as we got settled in our well-appointed, attractive room, Vivien invited us to the dining room for tea and then spent about an hour providing us with restaurant and activity options including some (e.g. the location of a thermal creek with water about 100 Fahrenheit/38 Celsius) that were not to be found in any brochures. Then she made reservations for those dining and activity options we selected. Other much-appreciated, special pluses were Peter's assistance with providing us with an electrical outlet converter and the two hot breakfasts (blueberry pancakes and bacon and eggs) not to mention the warm, just-out-of-the-oven cake that Vivien baked for us. If your New Zealand travel plans include Rotorua with its thermal parks and hot pools, Maori cultural experiences, redwood forest, walks along the lake which is home to black swans, and easy access to the Hobbiton movie set; your entire experience will be greatly enriched by staying at B&B @ The Redwoods. Thank you Cooper family!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haptogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed with Peter and Vivian Cooper three nights at Christmastime, 2011. Breakfasts were super-delicious, and Vivian was very helpful with tourist advice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed with Vivien and Peter in B&B@The Redwoods for 5 nights early in Dec 2011, and really enjoyed our stay. One of our priorities for the trip was to sample the mountain biking trails in the nearby Whakarewarewa forest, which are within easy riding distance from the B&B. Peter is a keen mountainer himself, and took me out on the trails for a couple of hours the first morning I was there, which was an excellent intro to the tracks and general area (he's also a keen night rider if you have your lights with you). The bikes and equipment were securely stored at the B&B, and everything you need for biking (rentals, tools, tires, shop, etc) are available just across the street in Outdoorsmen Headquarters. A bakery and cafe are conveniently located on either side of this shop. The B&B is conveniently located with respect to the airport, and Vivien provides plenty of information on all the local attractions. All in all, we really enjoyed our time in Rotorua thanks to B&B@The Redwoods

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shergall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had a lovely stay at The Redwoods. Vivien & Peter were extremely welcoming and did everything to make our holiday easier in the three days we were with them. The room was clean, well appointed and very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious (and accompanied by some lovely chats!). The B&B is just outside central Rotorua, but this was never a problem and it was only a couple of minutes drive into town - in fact, we were almost certainly better off for being just outside!

The only single down note is that the television in the bedroom has extremely poor reception (as to be unwatchable on all but one channel) - Vivien explained that this was generally an issue in the area and, to be honest, we had far more exciting things to be doing that sitting in our room, watching tv!

All in all, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing