We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm welcome”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint John, Canada
1 review
“warm welcome”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Vivian is a very friendly and helpful host, with many reliable suggestions and advice about what to do and where to go. Our bedroom was small, very clean and comfortable, with our own private deck. The shared living/dining area was very comfortable, and Vivian facilitated our getting very good take-out food, and provided dishes etc. so we could eat on the patio on her lovely garden. The B&B is in a very good location, away from the sulfur smell of Rotorua. We would heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvanCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
337
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Really me
Njoyed our stay at this location. Vivien was great and learned what guest probably wanted to do without asking. Only minor thing was that we wished there was more tv channels to watch but since we are just getting here this might be the norm. Defiantly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x11184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivienCooper, Owner at B&B @ The Redwoods, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thanks for your recent review. We've actually recently purchased 2 new TVs and are awaiting delivery. They have digital receivers and will be able to receive more channels. However, most of our B&B guests rarely seem to watch TV and prefer to make full use of our complimentary wireless Internet, as you did too using our laptop.
We were happy to be able to provide these services for sorting out your misplaced luggage and bank cards and helping you to change your itinerary. Likewise we were happy to accommodate, at no extra charge, your request for an early-morning check-in so you and your wife could catch up on your sleep. You seemed very appreciative of both the sleep, and, after waking up refreshed in the late afternoon, being served freshly baked blueberry coconut slice for afternoon tea. We were also glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the sites and activities that we had recommended in and around Rotorua.
Our only regret is that these additional services that made your stay here enjoyable and something you'd “definitely recommend", don't seem to have made up for not having more TV channels. However you may have since found that in New Zealand, having more TV channels doesn't mean the quality of the programmes shown are better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We chose the B&B at the Redwoods from reading the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room was spacious and very clean, in a separate wing of the house. Guests also have a lounge area, with tea/coffee, TV and books, and is also where breakfast is served. The house is set back from the road so there was no traffic noise and the off-street car parking was a bonus. Vivien is friendly and welcoming host, passionate about Rotorua and full of ideas about things to do and see. Good hearty breakfast. Recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2012

If we make it to NZ again, we will gladly stay there again! We could have easily spent a day just retreating at our B&B (maybe sit out some rain) but there is so much to see and do in and around Roturua. Our room easily matched and in many aspects exceeded hotel standards.
Our host, Vivian, was very helpful and knowledgable. You can see she takes pride in her business and makes it her personal ambition to satisfy her guests.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

we came to Rotorua the night of the rugby finals. At about the time everyone had already gathered for the party. The "who are you" we were greeted with when ringing the bell not only got us an absolutely incredible room but also an invitation to the finals night including friends, neighbours, food and an explanation to the rugby rules.
Vivian and Peter were the most awesome hosts ever!
The room and bathroom were very spacious, in front is a very beautiful little back yard, free wifi, an incredible breakfast and Vivians helpful tips for sightseeing and where to find some hidden attractions such as a hot spring for the locals, were rounding the experience up perfectly.
For the town of Rotorua, where the hot springs are everywhere, this location is perfect since you do not have the sulfur smell like downtown and the redwoods, lakes and outdoors are right outside the door. We only got to spent one night and one day, but managed to see so many things so easily from this convenient location.
Highly recommended!!
Thanks again for everything Vivian and Peter!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My fiancé and I stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time at Vivien and Pete's BnB. Vivien was an invaluable source of information for everything. She basically became our "tour operator" and helped us with everything - restaurants, tours, excursions, etc. If we ever come back to Rotorua we will 100 percent stay at their place again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Great location for exploring the area.
Vivien is a great hostess, really acomodating and a great source of insideinformation to the area.

The rooms are great and the breakfast sets you up for the day especially the pancakes. And she knows how to fills up a teenage boy (and girls).

You are right next to the redwood forest which is a must do - spectacular

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PommieAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
380 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing