We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!!!!”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!!!!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Vivienne was the perfect host and made us feel very welcome and well-looked after staying at "The Redwoods". Perfect hospitality!
We chose to stay here because of its great location in relation to Rotorua and being close to the forest and not far from Lake Tarawera.
Rotorua offers heaps of "things to do" for tourists and it's really worth spending a few days here to make the most of all the special and unique experiences that this city has to offer. Viviene is a great help with places to go, things to see, where to eat. We thoroughly recommend her suggestions.
We enjoyed our stay and were very comfortable - not to mention gaining a kilo or two with the great breakfast feasts that even our mountain biking could not make up for.
Absolutely loved it. Our stay in Rotorua was certainly the highlight of our trip.
Thank you Vivenne,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
332
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The Redwoods B&B was definitely a highlight of our stay in New Zealand. Vivian was welcoming and warm towards us from the moment we showed up on her porch to the moment she ran out after us barefoot on a chilly morning to say goodbye. We bonded over a common experience- my SO and I had just completed our degrees in Waterloo, Ontario and found out she'd done her undergrad there as well, many years ago! Throughout our stay she was absolutely amazing, taking care to make sure we were comfortable, entertained, and well fed! :) We have never stayed at a B&B with a host so spirited, joyful and friendly.

The rooms were very pleasantly decorated, spacious, and clean. Breakfast was a delicious plate of eggs, bacon, toast and a grilled tomato (which I really enjoyed!). The view out on the backyard is super, I definitely regret that the chilly weather didn't permit us to really enjoy the lovely little patio.

Keep up the wonderful work Vivian! We wish you and your family all the best :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvoloshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had stayed in 6 different accommodations during our recent two weeks holiday in North Island, this is by far the most memorable accommodation experience we have had. Vivien is a warm and attentive host. She offers good advice on what to see and do in Rotorua. The discount coupons to various attractions are quite handy too. Her home cooked big breakfast in the mornings and freshly baked lemon muffins are most enjoyable. Fresh fruits are always available. The B&B is located right next to The Redwoods forest, one should check out the various trails exploring the beautiful forest. We enjoyed the living/dining area for use by guests. My 4yo especially enjoyed playing with the playhouse, compliments of Vivien. It's a home away from home experience! Unlimited WIFI is a bonus. We will not hesitate to recommend B&B @ The Redwoods to anyone planning a stopover in Rotorua. You will not regret it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taitai73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have never stayed in a B&B before in my travels. Being Asian living in Borneo Sabah, Malaysia I have seen very poorly maintained B&B accommodation and as such I stayed away from them all the them. But it was a different experience at B&B @The Redwoods. It was a "home" away from home experience that I get. The room was clean and spacious, the bathroom was really clean as well. They even have a electrical blanket to keep you warm since it was winter.My wife, 2 daughters and myself thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Not forgetting the surrounding as well as the clean and well maintained living room for guests.Vivian and Peter are perfect hosts. Vivian is a good cook as well and you will not get hungry with her around. We get the feeling that we are being looked after every minute during our stay there. Moving about to the city was easy as well to the famous Redwoods Park.They are all within walking distance. A good job done Vivien and Peter.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HockLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Redwoods. The 2 rooms are oversized and each have their own bath and patio. We were traveling with another couple and the the part we enjoyed the most was the living/dining/patio area for the use of guests. Vivian and Peter were delightful and full of knowledge to share. Vivian did our laundry and got us a driver so my husband could have some wine with dinner. Perfect location and within walking distance to the park and a small shopping area. Loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty much identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Vivienne is a great host and guests will fell very welcome and well-looked after staying @The Redwoods
We chose to stay here because of its great location in relation to Rotorua city...a delightful 45 min walk from the city.
Rotorua offers heaps of fun "things to do" for tourists and it's really worth spending a few days here to make the most of all the special and unique experiences that this city has to offer.
We enjoyed our stay and were very comfortable.
Thank you Vivenne.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed with Vivien when I visited Rotorua over two years ago. On this trip, everything is just as good. The room is immaculate, with touches that would rival fine hotels. Vivien's legendary breakfasts, especially on the beautiful terrace, are still something to talk about long after you get back home. It is so easy when people ask me where to stay in Rotorua. Where else but with Viv?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
379 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing