We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best accommodations and hosts in NZ”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I were in NZ for 3 weeks for our honeymoon. Our stay in the B&B at the Redwoods was one of our best: clean, spacious, quiet, no sulfur smells, ... Vivien was a great host, on our arrival she helped us with information about what things we could do in a short timespan of only 2 days. She gave advice for restaurants (we went to Pig & Whistle, a nice pub). She was very enthusiastic about the All Blacks. She also gave vouchers for 10% off in Te Puia and Waiotapu. So really helpful!

Breakfast was very good to start the day with, and fun to share experiences with another couple at the table (if there is another couple of course). The location is great: only some minutes away from the redwoods park, and a 5 minute drive from Rotorua centre. Ideal to stay here for a couple of nights to explore the area.

Keep up the good work Vivien! If we come back some day we will stay at your place again for sure.

Jann & Isabel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Vivien is a wonderful host. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Rotorua and would recommend staying here while in Rotorua. She kept us company with great conversation over a hearty cooked breakfast every day and gave us lots helpful tips about the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all necessary amenities and a lounge area for us to use. It is a short drive to Rotorua city center.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank TravellerDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We travelled NZ for 4 weeks and one highlight to remember was definitely the stay at Rotorua, including host Vivien’s perfect hospitality and warm personality. Originally, we planned to stay 3 nights. But because we felt so welcomed, we spontaneously added another night. A big THANK YOU again! We are very honest if we say that the B&B @ The Redwoods was the best accommodation on our trip.

In addition to a clean, spacious room and bathroom as well as the rich and delicious breakfast and homemade muffins or cakes, we appreciated especially the conversations with Vivien that gave us good opportunities to practice our English and to learn more about the country and their people. Her competent suggestions about activities and must sees helped us very much to make the best out of our stay at Rotorua. Vivien even books you activities and can provide rebate vouchers for some attractions.

We are eager to come back one day and hope that the B&B @ The Redwoods will still be running at that time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ueli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a great time at Vivien's Redwoods B&B. We were greeted with warm muffins/cake, tea/coffee after a long drive from Auckland. Vivien also had plenty of toys for the kids and they had a ball of a time in the lounge which was big enough for them to run around and have fun. She cooked delicious breakfast in the morning per our and the kids' liking. Very cosy room and extremely clean. Vivien made us feel very warm and welcoming, we would have long conversations yet she would manage to prepare such elaborate breakfast. She's a superlady! She had a wealth of recommendations for things to do in and around Rotorua and she made reservations on our behalf as well. We wished we stayed longer than 1 night at her place.

Room Tip: We lived in the corner suite which was very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTTworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had fabulous two nights with Vivien and her family and absolutely impressed with their hospitality. The room is in a good size, quite, clean and well decorated. Catering for delicious breakfast depending on personal preferences. Please do notice they can accommodate for three people as well, although it did not say on the website, as I would have booked with them again for next month if I know this. I will strongly recommend to stay with them if you would like to travel to Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhuoshi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two nights at The Redwoods and wish it had been longer. The room was extremely well equipped, comfortable, and quiet. No directly adjacent room. Vivien and Peter were very helpful and friendly. The lounge, made available to guests, is also very comfortable. We would recommend it to anyone, and if we're in the area in future we would stay there again. The location is close enough to the city centre to be convenient for restaurants, but far enough out to have little local traffic at night. There are beautiful walks nearby.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter. Both are very similar and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This was the first place we stayed on our honeymoon in NZ and wow, what a warm welcome! Vivien and Peter were so helpful in advising what to do in the area which was great since we hasn't planned any activities. And It was nice to come home each night to a clean and cozy room, and then wake up to have a lovely hot breakfast made to fill us up for the day! Best yet, Vivien and Peter were caring for a friends baby lamb while we were visiting and Vivien let me feed him in the morning! Such a fun experience. I would definitely go back here if we ever make it back to NZ! Thanks so much for the hospitality!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth-and-Casey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
388 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,265 reviews
8.3 mi away
Country Villa
Country Villa
#7 of 52 in Rotorua
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £95 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing