We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable & Memorable 1st Experience :)”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Unforgettable & Memorable 1st Experience :)”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Its my first time to NZ as well as Rotorua,me and my 20yrs best friend 1st road trip in our life !! Thanks for the welcome cake and nice chat during these 4days.My great pleasure to sharing our adventures & journeys with Vivien.

Cozy & comfortable place to stay all over the place , no matter the room or dinning area.The facilities for bedroom / washroom were absolutely clean & makes us feel like HOME .With expertise / advice from Vivien , both we know more about Rotorua & the small towns nearby, great ideas always come from her and you won't feel enough time for you trip .Love the atmosphere when we're having breakfast together with other guests came from Germany, sharing / introducing to each other,meeting new friends .

I would definitely coming back here because of you and Peter in he future , looking forward to attend any function you going to organize :)

Good location which only few minutes of driving to city centre .

Thank you for everything Vivien , miss your breakfast & hospitality .This is the BEST B&B I had stayed so far ......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaFromHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    45
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
337
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My best friend from primary school came to New Zealand for a visit so we've decided to stay at B&B @ The Redwoods for our Rotorua leg of the road trip. It was one of the best experiences I've ever had!

The room we stayed in was clean, bright and spacious. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. Everything about the accommodation was remarkable, but the best thing about this place is the lovely hostess, Vivien. She's very friendly and always helpful. Extremely well-connected and knowledgeable, Vivien gave us some really good advice on where we could visit and made sure we were well looked after. I really enjoyed the conversations with Vivien at the breakfast table alongside other travellers. It was definitely the personal touch that made the stay so awesome. I highly recommend anyone who's looking for a top-notch B&B experience in Rotorua to stay at B&B @ The Redwoods.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My wife and I were in NZ for 3 weeks for our honeymoon. Our stay in the B&B at the Redwoods was one of our best: clean, spacious, quiet, no sulfur smells, ... Vivien was a great host, on our arrival she helped us with information about what things we could do in a short timespan of only 2 days. She gave advice for restaurants (we went to Pig & Whistle, a nice pub). She was very enthusiastic about the All Blacks. She also gave vouchers for 10% off in Te Puia and Waiotapu. So really helpful!

Breakfast was very good to start the day with, and fun to share experiences with another couple at the table (if there is another couple of course). The location is great: only some minutes away from the redwoods park, and a 5 minute drive from Rotorua centre. Ideal to stay here for a couple of nights to explore the area.

Keep up the good work Vivien! If we come back some day we will stay at your place again for sure.

Jann & Isabel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Vivien is a wonderful host. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Rotorua and would recommend staying here while in Rotorua. She kept us company with great conversation over a hearty cooked breakfast every day and gave us lots helpful tips about the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with all necessary amenities and a lounge area for us to use. It is a short drive to Rotorua city center.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We travelled NZ for 4 weeks and one highlight to remember was definitely the stay at Rotorua, including host Vivien’s perfect hospitality and warm personality. Originally, we planned to stay 3 nights. But because we felt so welcomed, we spontaneously added another night. A big THANK YOU again! We are very honest if we say that the B&B @ The Redwoods was the best accommodation on our trip.

In addition to a clean, spacious room and bathroom as well as the rich and delicious breakfast and homemade muffins or cakes, we appreciated especially the conversations with Vivien that gave us good opportunities to practice our English and to learn more about the country and their people. Her competent suggestions about activities and must sees helped us very much to make the best out of our stay at Rotorua. Vivien even books you activities and can provide rebate vouchers for some attractions.

We are eager to come back one day and hope that the B&B @ The Redwoods will still be running at that time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ueli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had a great time at Vivien's Redwoods B&B. We were greeted with warm muffins/cake, tea/coffee after a long drive from Auckland. Vivien also had plenty of toys for the kids and they had a ball of a time in the lounge which was big enough for them to run around and have fun. She cooked delicious breakfast in the morning per our and the kids' liking. Very cosy room and extremely clean. Vivien made us feel very warm and welcoming, we would have long conversations yet she would manage to prepare such elaborate breakfast. She's a superlady! She had a wealth of recommendations for things to do in and around Rotorua and she made reservations on our behalf as well. We wished we stayed longer than 1 night at her place.

Room Tip: We lived in the corner suite which was very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTTworld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had fabulous two nights with Vivien and her family and absolutely impressed with their hospitality. The room is in a good size, quite, clean and well decorated. Catering for delicious breakfast depending on personal preferences. Please do notice they can accommodate for three people as well, although it did not say on the website, as I would have booked with them again for next month if I know this. I will strongly recommend to stay with them if you would like to travel to Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhuoshi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
381 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing