We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Stress in This Place of Rest”
Review of B&B @ The Redwoods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B @ The Redwoods
Ranked #2 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No Stress in This Place of Rest”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Hostess Viv is friendly to everyone, and her husband Peter equally so. Viv joins you at breakfast and keeps the conversation going even while providing a delicious full breakfast, toast, tea, coffee, and all the standards.

The room was spacious and comfortable and looked out on a pleasant green backyard shared only with the hosts and the few other guests. In a pleasant surprise, the shower contained large bottles of body wash, shampoo, and conditioner so that we wouldn't need to waste the packaging of the tiny hotel-sized items.

It was a brief drive to Rotorua proper, and a minute drive (or a pleasant walk) to small nature preserve featuring imported redwoods (for which the B&B is named) mixed with some other foreign and local trees. It was a great place for a morning walk.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PASchaefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
335
18
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

My sister and I were very happy with our accommodations. Our room was wonderful and Vivian and Peter, the proprieters, made us feel very comfortable and welcome. By the time we left we felt like we made two new good friends. Vivian made delicious breakfasts and was extremely helpful with suggestions of what to do and see in the area of Rotorua. You can tell Vivian loves what she is doing. She was very sincere and takes a personal interest in her guests.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpieranunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Enjoyed our stay at the Redwoods B&B. Vivian was very informative on what to see and do while in Rotorua. The Redwoods were within walking distance from the B&B which we did the first day. The lounge and dining area of the B& B were very nicely appointed. We loved our room, spacious and bright. Vivian served a wonderful breakfast each morning sitting with her guests, making us feel welcome in her home.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Since you already get the gist from previous reviews that this is a great place, I'll just add a few details. What surprised my SO and I were the high end touches in the bathroom/room. Such as: an electric blanket (not needed during our stay), a heated rack for your towels, massage head in the shower, a heat lamp in the bathroom that WORKED, a fan and heater in the room, and a guide book for the local area.

Then there is Vivian's small touches. She closes the curtains for you so your room doesn't get too hot. She washed and dried our clothes for us, and left htem neatly folded on the bed. When she saw us return in the evening she would turn on the music for us in the living area. She makes hot tea for you, and gives excellent advise on what to see and do.

If you go, I have two recommendations. Start your moring with a walk through the redwood forest, which is right around the corner. Also visit the near by lakes, one of them has a nature preserve and you will likely see black swan chicks (too cute!)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kterhark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

To discover Vivien and Peter's B&B was a delight. The two large well appointed bedrooms and lounge/diner with their facilities were well above the standard expected, as was the hospitality of the hosts. The locality of Redwoods provides easy access to the town and also the main highway system making this an ideal location for discovering what this part of NZ has to offer to visitors. Vivien's breakfasts are not to be missed and nor is the wealth of information she provides and, in so doing, puts guests at ease immediately. I would stay at Redwoods again should I ever get the opportuntiy to revisit NZ.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombriton65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangamata NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 December 2010

Denise and Jim Carbery Whangamata NZ
They were actually booked out but made up a room in their home to accomodate us
Very impressed
Beautiful family
A credit to NZ bed and breakfasts
Home away from home
Denise and Jim Carbery Whangamata NZ

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StunningWhangamataNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The two rooms here are simple and well-designed, with a nice view into the owners' green and leafy back yard and a sitting room just for guests. Opt for the larger room if it is available. Everything that you need is provided. Breakfast is to order and very good. The real treat at B&B at the Redwoods is the owner, Vivian, who tried harder than any B&B owner we have ever seen to please us and help us enjoy our visit. She has lived in Rotorua for a long time and knows the best places to go and who runs what. She can advise on good hikes, good restaurants, and the best Maori hana to go to. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandstoneSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.7 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
Mokoia Downs Estate B&B
#1 of 52 in Rotorua
379 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doolan's Country Retreat
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 92 in Rotorua
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B @ The Redwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B @ The Redwoods

Property: B&B @ The Redwoods
Address: 3 Awatea Terrace | Lynmore, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — B&B @ The Redwoods 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded yet Central. 2 luxurious ensuite guest rooms with private verandah and garden. Private entrance to guest only lounge,dining, indoor & outdoor living. City & lakes 5 mins, many attractions close by, next to Redwood Forest. Full Breakfast included, safe & free off-street car park, free Wifi, laundry facilities, no sulphur smell. 4 star NZ Qualmark rating and highly recommended by travellers in Tripadvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your B&B @ The Redwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing