We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ann's (and Ann herself) is Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #63 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Rotorua has a very kitchy vibe and Ann's Volcanic fits right in! Nothing about the place is stuffy or corporate. Personal photography of Rotorua and the surrounding areas adorns the walls. The room we stayed in was spacious and warm. The bathroom was also large. There was a little kitchenette area that would be handy if you were trying to save money by eating in.

Of course, the highlight of staying here is Ann herself. Friendly as can be, she is also very knowledgeable and a wealth of information. She recommended and booked a Maori cultural experience for us, as well as gave us some tips for visiting the Wai-o-Tapu Geothermal area.

There is wi-fi internet available for a minimal fee, I think it was probably $5NZ, and it covers your whole stay. Very handy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJamesGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Hi guys...i remember you and you are very cool! Thanks so much for wtriting such a wonderful review! Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2010

Ann's Volcanic Rotorua has all the qualities you want and expect in a good motel, including cleanliness, privacy, good service and pleasant decor. Plus, the owner is really friendly and full of helpful, local knowledge about the many attractions in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TDOG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Thanks so much...Funky is cool ! Wow ! Glad to be of help to you while you were in Rotroua . ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The motel room was comfy and well-equipped. The rooms and bed were very clean, and are cleaned daily during your stay. The kitchen provides minimal cooking facilities (though was fine for our dinner), with much-appreciated complimentary tea, coffee, milk. There are friendly little touches around the apartment (subtle butterfly motif, photos instead of paintings, etc). The courtyard was lovely to sit out in on our perfect summer nights. Ann was very friendly and informative on to-do lists of Rotorua.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivjarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

This is a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it. i am glad you liked the my little touches. i tend to treat the motel as my own personal gallery...at the moment the walls are holding 3 'exhibitions'......' Pychodalicarized Flowers' ' Rowers' and ' Rotorua in Black and White' . Hmm....i hope my next photographic exhibition- ' Skies' will fit amongst these?Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I travelled with my partner and three other friends and were in town for a wedding.
Thank you for a marvelous stay, we found the motel clean, comfortable and well equipped. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful, which in turn helped to make our long distance adventure relaxing as well as hugely enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueanorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

I am so glad you had a happy stay. Thank you for taking the time to review my motel. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Fantastic Motel with excellent rooms, service and staff.
I have tried several Motels in Rotorua in the past but find this to be the best stay in Rotorua by a country mile. This is now the only motel I stay at in town and wouldn't even consider looking elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metalrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Wow- How many times can i say ' Thank you' ? ....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you.....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you....Thank you...i really appreciate your review. Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

As french tourists, we needed some advices about what to visit around Rotorua. The staff has been very helpfull (and we ask for them several times!).

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annsvolcanic, Owner at Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

i like it! USER FRIENDLY- thank you for your lovely review. You are very kind- Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Ann's Volcanic is a wonderful place to stay if you are in Rotorua. My mother and I made a trip from the US to New Zealand and spent two nights in Rotorua there. We had a suite and it was highly satisfactory. The suite was immaculately clean and nicely decorated. You could obviously tell that Ann takes pride in her units. We had a fenced-in rear terrace with a jacuzzi and that was a nice touch, although we didn't use it during our stay.

The best part about staying at Ann's is Ann herself. She was a wonderful host, very friendly while not being pushy, and she gave us great advice on shopping and what to do in Rotorua. I plan on going back to New Zealand one day and if I'm in Rotorua I will definitely stay at Ann's again. Her rooms are exactly as described on her website at http://www.rotoruamotel.co.nz and despite the NZ/USA time difference she was quick about answering emailed questions.

Apologies for the poor pictures, I wasn't planning on posting any in a review so I don't have any good ones.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crybick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 mi away
Devonwood Manor
Devonwood Manor
#78 of 92 in Rotorua
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 92 in Rotorua
118 reviews
0.8 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#56 of 92 in Rotorua
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Union Victoria Motel
Union Victoria Motel
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments

Address: 107 Malfroy Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £49 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 1997, in the inner circle of Rotorua City, New Zealand. Featured in Lonely Planet Guide Book for 15 years and close to Rotorua shopping centers, Golf Courses, and main tourism sights. Our charming accommodation is world famous for friendliness. We offer self catering suites and studios which are quiet and spacious. Perfectly suited for a romantic gateway for two, a holiday for the whole family or a business stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ann's Volcanic Rotorua Motel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anns Volcanic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing