We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Spa Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Cant fault it”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Whatever your age, you will be made to feel at home here. The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. The staff are fantastic, and very helpful. Its impressive to walk in to check in and be greeted by your first name. The location is on a main road, so easy to find and if you cant get one of the 4 parking spaces that are outside the hostel, then theres free parking on the opposite side of the road all day.

Theres a great hot spa in the garden which meant I could deal with my arthritic ankle easily at the end of the day, having walked around all the thermal hotspots in the town.

The attitude of the guys who run the place seems to percolate down to all the guests and makes everyone happy and friendly.

General advice to those visiting for the first time - geothermal activity means the water contains sulphur which can leave black deposits on bathroom fixtures just as limescale does in other parts of the world. Its not necessarily dirt, so get over it.

I would go back there anytime

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieQuartly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    21
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
24
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Very nice place that has a great outdoor common area where you can have a beer with people from all over the world! The owner was extremely helpful in finding out what we wanted to do in Rotorua and then helping us plan a walk for the day that fit everything in! There are four free parking spots out front, but they tend to fill up quite fast. If you stay during a big tourist time like Xmas though, the city tends to have free parking on the street. Bottle shop and grocery 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NobleCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed two nights. One of my favourite hostels in NZ. There is a spa with water from volcanic reserves underground, saves you money going to a spa. Location is in the centre of town and everything walkable. Best thing is the two asian guys who run the hostel are very friendly and eager to help. They were very helpful with suggesting what companies to do with activities with and didn't push any certain company. They can also get you discounts. My friend also left her earrings in the hostel room and they kindly posted them back. If you looking for a hostel choose this one!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Spa lodge is a very budget hostel so don't expect too much but the staff are very friendly. Most rooms are shared bathrooms but they are kept clean. Smaller dorm rooms are available. It is in a good position for the sights of Rotorua and the common room and kitchen are always very friendly. The courtyard sitting area and hot natural spa is a bonus!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I loved this hostel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the place has a very homely feel to it. The location is great in that its central but not at all noisy. The outdoor area is huge and they have a bbq. The best thing about this hostel is the natural hot pool, I loved it! Its not at all a party hostel but an easy place to meet other backpackers. Easily the best hostel in Rotorua.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Very nice hostel, well-organized, helpful staff, not noisy at night, clean and tidy. We stayed in the hostel for 3 nights. Looking forward to returning real soon!! We miss MIKA the cat, so cute.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arunothai Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington, new zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Spa Lodge might be a bit old, but it has great character. The staff are the best I have ever come across. They are helpful and friendly but not obtrusive. I've stayed many times and it is like going home to family (family you actually like). There is not a lot of room for parking cars but the guys are tops when it comes to having a bike with you (Redwoods, he he he, some of the best MTBing in the world is a 10min ride away). Heaps of restaurant and supermarkets within short walking distance. Beds are comfortable and rooms warm. Kitchen has everything you need and lots of space. Lounge is good.

Room Tip: The rooms with double bed and shower work a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MortimerEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#15 of 57 in Rotorua
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Lodge Backpackers

Property: Spa Lodge Backpackers
Address: 1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Spa Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing