We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spa Lodge Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spa Lodge Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I was working for accomodation in the Spa Lodge and I loved every minute of it! The managers of the hostel take good care of it and you can feel that they care about their backpackers. Tea, coffee and spices were always refilled and the hot spa pool was of course incredible. For a hostel it had a high standard and I would go there again as soon as I'm back in Rotorua. I'd recommend it to everybody who wants a cheap bed with the bonus of clean kitchen, bathrooms and a caring staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knute88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We were recommended Spa Lodge by some other backpackers but I am not really sure why.. There appear to be nicer hostels in Rotorua.

The location is good, 15 minute walk from the i-site and thermal park. 5 minutes from Supermarket. The actual hostel is a bit grotty to be honest. The kitchens are small and felt extremely cramped. Our double room was also grotty and didn't feel very clean - I woke up everyday with a new bite - and the sleep quality is quite bad. They do offer a spa pool but I did not want to try it, of my own accord so I cannot comment on that!

The best thing about this hostel are the people. We were made to feel welcome and they offered all sorts of information about the best things to do in Rotorua - with discounts! - so we felt really happy about making decisions. They always said hello and asked about your day, and Mika the cat always said hi! There is no free WiFi but you get a little bit if you book any trips through them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsticker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Close to the town and opposite supermarkets, very convenient. Our room was clean and tidy, not cluttered like some dorms. Kitchen always clean, as were bathrooms. Wide choice of DVDs. Very helpful staff. Lots of character, good atmosphere. Rooms a bit hot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

This backpackers is a little bit shabby now but it is clean, well run and comfortable with excellent heating on the cold wet October night we were there in a twin room. The rambling collection of rooms around the courtyard is full of character and has a pleasant garden setting. For a quiet stay in a smaller pleasant hostel, this is a good pick in a town full of less pleasant looking hostels. And it has a friendly cat - always a plus.

Room Tip: Probably pick one away from the courtyard and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hostel is a little bit on the run down side but it does have a lot of character. The kitchen was reasonable, it was quiet and quite clean. I am only giving it an average score because I have been giving excellent and very good to hostels that are a lot nicer than this one and I feel that I need to reflect that in my reviews. Overall if you want a traditional, well priced hostel this is a good option. If you want a modern one with up to date facilities give it a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usc_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hostel is in a good position, near the centre of Rotorua. The rooms are quite good and I really liked the decorations on the walls. There are two kitchens where you can write everything you want on the walls. I liked the natural hot tub, very relaxing after a day of travel. The man at the reception gave us good advices about what to do and see in Rotorua. Unfortunately internet was quite expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaher-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was the only bed I could find for a reasonable price over easter weekend and it was great. I was in a 4 bed mixed dorm. Good welcome from reception. Room was spacious and tidy with 2 single beds and one bunks. Bathroom was just down the corridor and was clean. Shared kitchen was again clean. Didn't use the spa pool but it was available. The computers are very old school and slow but wifi and computer use is available.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayReviews90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#4 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Lodge Backpackers

Property: Spa Lodge Backpackers
Address: 1221 Amohau Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Spa Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing