We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Came back”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We booked through Agoda good value. Stayed three nights. We complained about the double bed so they went an brought an new one. Can not ask for better value. Good value with breakfast included. Good pools both natural and outside. This motel is not new but kept clean and tidy.

Room Tip: All good but only stayed in the one bed units
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Manager at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Kia Ora Good Morning and thank you for your feedback
we're happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you and your family again
Warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2013

I recently stayed for 5 nights with my daughter and granddaughter. The studio was very comfortable with a double and single bed. The fan was a great asset as we used it throughout the night due the hot weather we were experiencing. The swimming pool in front of the motel was also fabulous after a long hot day at kapa haka competition. Being situated right by the shopping complex an down the road from countdown was also a bonus. The hosts were very helpful and breakfast being included was another added bonus. One drawback was that the childrens playground that is advertised is no longer available - so either replace it or take it out of the advertising is what i recommend. Otherwise it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Manager at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Kia Ora Good Morning, thank you very much for your positive review
we are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay
and we consider seriously your feedback regarding children's playground.
we hope to see you again
warmest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location was easy to find and close(ish) to shops. Bonus wifi was good value - didn't know about this until we turned up.

The breakfast had lots of variety - a help yourself thing - where everything was laid out. Toast, fruit, jam, tea, coffee, cereal etc.

The bed was comfy and the place was clean. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave.

Downsides: The pools were good, although they probably need a bit of a clean. The bathroom didn't have much ventilation and there wasn't a fly screen on the window, so if you opened the window the mosquitoes and bugs would come in, but if you left it closed the bathroom would soon smell very damp.

I'd stay here again - cheap, basic and friendly accommodation.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sg7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Manager at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Good Afternoon, we want to thank you for your interesting review
and we want you to know , that we will consider your feedback regarding bathroom and pools
again all our apologises.
we're delighted to read that you have enjoyed our continental breakfast
we hope to see you again
Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We were looking for a place that was centrally located and low-priced. A complimentary buffet and complimentary WiFi were added bonuses; the continental buffet, while basic, was more than adequate. The WiFi was sufficient for checking e-mails, which is what we needed. The location was terrific as well, within walking distance of the city centre and Central Mall. The other places (mainly hotels) where we had stayed in the past were located way down on Fenton St, which meant we had to take the car out more often than we would have liked. The kitchen was very handy, e.g., a microwave for reheating pizzas and plenty of good-quality cutlery.
On the flipside, the shower was cordoned off from the rest of the bathroom by just a shower curtain, which meant the floor of the bathroom got wet - this is a safety hazard and not very pleasant by any means (this issue has been raised by others on TripAdvisor for this motel). There was no clock radio in the room to show us the time. The freezer compartment in the fridge was not functional as a result of which water dripped on to the floor of the fridge.
Notwithstanding these drawbacks, if we had to visit Rotorua again, we probably would first try this place first for a good price for a studio room before looking elsewhere. (We got the deal through Wotif.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandJ255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I booked this motel based on overall reviews from trip advisor. I stayed for 3 nights and wasnt disappointed. The place is clean, quiet and about 2 minutes walk to the shops. The hosts are both accomodating and easy to talk to. I will book this motel again whenever I visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byk2wrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen F, Manager at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Kia Ora Good Afternoon
and once again thank you very much for your feedback
we're happy to read that your stay was pleasant, and we hope to host you again
soon
Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was our "cheapie" for the trip being half the price of some of our other stays! It was really good value and scrupulously clean - and we got to practice our French!!! The motel is old but it is more that suitable and we would stay there again without a second thought!. The on-site thermal pools were a bonus and we had several dips really felt like locals! The advice about where to go and what to see was also very good and in line with our tastes of looking for real local flavour and value rather than "touristy" venues. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThePrests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Context: We wanted an inexpensive weekend in Rotorua (mountain biking), with plans for two nights in a motel that cost less than $90/night but that would cater to couples/families rather than backpackers. We used Wotif to identify potential candidates in our desired price range. And then we searched the reviews in trip advisor to find the one that had the highest ranking. In this way, we narrowed our search to the Sequoia-Acacia. A quick check showed that booking directly through the motel website turned up the same price as quoted on Wotif, in which case we opted to book directly to save the owners any overhead that they might have to otherwise pay for our booking. We booked the room in off-season and at off-season rates.

For the price we paid, we did not expect 4-star luxury resort accommodations. We expected clean and quiet with mid-range comfort. We got this and more.

The studio room is surprisingly spacious, with a large bedroom with both a queen and a single bed. There is a small chest-of-drawers on top of which a small CRT TV is placed (there are very few channels...no need for a bigger TV...but we didn't go to Rotorua to watch TV anyway!). There is a nice long counter that extends across a corner of the room and provides a great place for placing things (too often motel/hotel rooms don't leave a guest space to place various objects such as wallets, keys, books, maps, eyeglasses, etc) but this room gave us plenty of space for this).

Off of the main room, separated by a sliding pocket door is a nice little kitchen. This is equipped with a sink, small fridge, microwave, kettle, hobs, basic cookware, dishes, utensils. To the side is a small round table with three chairs.

The kitchen opens up to an outdoor patio area with basic patio furniture. Each room has its own designated patio area, demarcated by small separators. The bathroom is very large and equipped with a shower.

The decor is not high-end, nor did we expect it to be. It is very basic but functional. Again, we were not paying 4-star prices and did not come with 4-star expectations.

Because we booked directly with the motel, continental breakfast was included with our room price. Even though the room has a small kitchen, we appreciated being able to take breakfast in the common dining room. The breakfast offerings were not fancy (again, keep in mind the price range, the fact that it was low season, and that breakfast was included FREE), but had everything we needed: A choice of a couple cold cereals, some juice, coffee/tea/chocolate, dried fruit, yoghurt, canned fruit, toast, jam, honey, and marmite, etc.

Another bonus was that the motel has two thermal hot pools that guests are permitted to use until 9pm. These pools are covered and so can be visited regardless of the weather. The water in the pools looks a little like toxic goo due to the natural minerals that are in the water; we have visited many natural hot springs and so are familiar with the fact that they don't always look appealing, yet feel great. There are two pools, kept at slightly different temperatures, and shared by all guests. It was low season and so we had them to ourselves. There is also an outdoor pool but this was not the season for us to dip our toes so I can't comment on it.

I also can't comment on the laundry facilities since we were not there long enough to use them, but there is a shared laundry room available to guests between 8am-8pm; it looked as though you'd need to bring your own laundry detergent.

Given that price had been our primary factor in selecting a motel, we did not investigate locations very carefully when we made our selection. However, it turned out that of the various motels that had met our criteria and made our short list, the Sequoia-Acacia was located in the best place. It is not exactly in city centre. But the main city centre is only about a 20-minute walk or a short cycle/drive. There is a grocery store right across the street. And there is easy access to Fenton Street to access the touristy areas and mountain-biking/hiking trails.

If I really wanted to nitpick, I might request that the owners put space between guests when the motel is not full, rather than assigning them to adjacent rooms. But the other guests staying near us were quiet and respectful so it wasn't an issue for us.

Comparing the Sequoia-Acacia to other motels I've stayed in, it is 'average' in terms of service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness. By 'average' I mean that it met my expectations for a room in this price range: Clean, quiet, functional, with middle-of-the-road comfort, and older decor. It is, in most ways, a fairly typical motel. But given the price, it offers a few surprises that make it a VERY GOOD choice: It is reasonably well situated, offers spacious rooms with a nice outdoor area, thermal hot pools, and a breakfast option for booking direct. And it seems to be priced reasonably for the area.

If rooms were available at a similar price, we would stay again at the Sequoia-Acacia without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Kia Ora Good afternoon and thank you very much for your detailled review on our accommocation offering in Rotorua. We are delighted to read of your positive experience at our motel and will definately review your feedback for future improvements plans. WE trust to have the chance of hosting you on another visit to the city of Rotorua. Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#3 of 91 in Rotorua
1,284 reviews
7.9 mi away
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
VR Rotorua Lake Resort
#24 of 91 in Rotorua
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia - Acacia Lodge Motel

Address: 40 Victoria Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Sequoia Acacia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing