We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New furnishings, recently renovated, smallish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #52 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Halifax
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“New furnishings, recently renovated, smallish”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The room itself was comfortable, but relatively small. It had two double beds pushed together, two bedside tables, a TV on a dresser, a small fridge and microwave with a few basic dishes, but no separate 'kitchen' sink. The bathroom was large and fairly newly renovated. On the whole, it was a good deal for $150/2nights on a GrabOne but I wouldn't have wanted to pay full price.

This hotel is fine at the discounted rate but even with this reduced rate, it would not be my preferred place to stay in Rotorua; I care more about functionality than newer furnishings and there are some great old motels that are the same price range but that offer full self-catering.

At the regular (non-discounted) hotel rate, I would definitely shop around as the Apollo does not seem to be competitively priced for the market.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IntentToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    52
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
55
55
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel was really nice and clean. We stayed in the standard studio room and was just perfect for what we needed. King sized bed, air conditioning and large screen tv with sky channels. It also had a balcony. The staff were really nice and there was plenty of off street parking. It was quite quiet when we went, but I could hear the man next door coughing so it may be noisy in the busy season. We didn't get to make use of the pool because it was cold outside but it looked really nice. Great location - but you would need a car as it is tucked away from the main hustle and bustle of the main town area. I would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We hadnt been to Rotorua before so booked Apollo when it was still part of Quest, knowing that Quest properties are a good standard. Apollo apartments are very nice but Rotoura has an abundance of accommodation and I now know we didn't need to pay $145/night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main room (which the back of the property faces) - log trucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here on Sunday night of Easter weekend. Its close to the geyser park but far from the town center where the restaurants are and you need to travel to the other side of town to reach the main attractions (luge, zorb, rainbowsprings) Clean room and ranch slider out onto the poolside. Pillows were quite hard. Receptionist was nice and helpful. However the spa pool water was a sort of greeny brown color so it obviously had not been changed in a while. The hall way windowsills were really dusty and had dead flies scattered so cleaning seemed to be limited to the rooms. The room cost us $139 for the night which was pretty expensive for a standard double room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandAceC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in February. We originally booked only one night through Wotif, but enjoyed sightseeing in the area so much we decided to stay a second night. Our room was very comfortable and quiet, and good value for what we paid. The bathroom was a really decent size, and the staff was pretty friendly, even if they were a bit disorganised at times.

For me the big con with this hotel is that there's not much around in the way of restaurants and shops around. (The only restaurant nearby is the Holiday Inn across the street.) It's a bit smelly with the geothermal spots just down the street, but then that's Rotorua. :-) Overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I see this place has mixed reviews, but I can only comment on our stay, which was just for one night, and we arrived late (10pm). Parking was restricted due to a festival in Rotorua, but I found a place on the street so that wasn't an issue. The room itself was nice enough, and the bed was comfortable. The only slight grumblewas no air con, which surprised me as it wasn't the cheapest place we stayed at in NZ.

There was WiFi which is is based on voucher codes. These are allocated at check in from reception, but as we arrived late the duty manager let us in (reception closes at 8pm) so we needed to appeal to the duty mgr to get us a code, which he did in a very fiendly manner.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilLanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here as part of a two night deal, wouldn't have paid full price for it. We were in a Studio room which was nice enough, clean, big bed, bathroom was fine - although the shower head was a bit broken so water pressure was quite low, did inform the front desk. Absolutely no bench space, so if you want to make breakfast carry everything across to the small dining table on other side of room. Couldn't do dishes...or should we have done them in bathroom sink next to toilet? And no service on Sundays so dishes couldn't be exchanged for clean ones. Noise wasn't too bad. Location was good for us accessing the mountain bike park, otherwise you had to drive to get to any restaurants or supermarkets, although there is a BP garage around the corner. Staff were friendly. The pool area was quite nice too for an evening drink.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.6 mi away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#67 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Property: Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing