We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #52 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The room was very spacious, modern furniture, and super clean. The hotel has a nice and clean pool. But the elevator is very noisy and could be heard very well from our room, which was a nuisance late in the evening and early in the morning. The water in the spa was disgustingly dirty. Overall for the money a bit disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alk50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

I booked through wotif.com for a cheap hotel to stay at for work, what a lovely surprise! Clean, modern, plenty of car parks, toasty warm rooms and close to the main road for supermarkets, food etc. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We were looking for another option of where to stay in Rotorua, as had been disappointed in our usual accommodation. Was searching for options when 'grab a deal' offered the Apollo Hotel. Immediately booked and contacted others who were travelling to same competition and so the phone calls went on. Those of us that stayed in the Apollo had restful nights sleep in very comfortable beds. The rooms had balconies and tea and coffee facilities + microwave. We had a couple of hiccoughs ( tv reception poor and lights not working) which were fixed immediately reception was notified. We will definitely be returning and have suggested that others who will be attending the competition next year consider booking here also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz65Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were tossing up between staying in rotorua or taupo & then ended up here through a discounted membership to entertainment book. We booked online one hour before check in & had no problems.
Was at the end of town so wouldn't stay here without a car but we didn't mind.
Rooms were modern, good heating, lovely bathrooms.
Could hear some neighbours coughing during night but didn't disturb sleep as bed was comfy as!!
Tv reception a little dodgy but we didn't really use it.
The lady at front desk was real nice and provided us with great advice and lovely service.
Was only short drive to redwoods forest, 3mins into cbd & right next door to the geysers.
Would def stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spiritbird116812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We initially stopped over the road at the Holiday Inn but they weren't very helpful. We went right over the road to the Apollo and were very pleasantly surprised. It's in a quite spot away from the traffic. The staff are very friendly and the room was very good. Comfy king sized bed with crisp sheets along with enough space for anyone. The staff members we dealt with had a good knowledge of the local area. We loved it.

Room Tip: The upper floors might be a bit quieter given the bottom floor units face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_allen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed two nights would definitely return. I loved the location as it is quietly tucked away off the main Fenton Street beat but is still incredibly close driving to all the things we wanted to see and do in Rotorua. Thank you so much, we had an amazing stay at Apollo Hotel. Loved the interconnecting room options. It should be mentioned that the two different staff we dealt with here were both very friendly, professional, helpful and approachable. Our lovely receptionist even printed our Ice Skate Rink tickets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cavew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights and found out everything perfect as a culmination of comfort, quality, ambience, and off course service. The manager himself is directly involved in addressing even the smallest need of any customer and is a very helpful lad.

Al in all, a peaceful place in Rotorua for that much needed break !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaurya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 91 in Rotorua
256 reviews
2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 91 in Rotorua
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#54 of 91 in Rotorua
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#49 of 91 in Rotorua
1,267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 91 in Rotorua
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £66 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing