We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Ranked #54 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friend and I booked the Apollo over the net and we a bit hesitant about it. It turned out to be a nice surprise. We booked the one bedroom apartment. The screen doors opened to the pool and spa rooms. We were walking distance from Waka village Tourist attraction in the thermal end of town.

We found the room spacious and clean. The bathroom was good and I have no complaints. The kitchen was spotless. Each day the room was serviced. There is a small lift between floors and the laundry is a shared one downstairs. We never tried the room service.

If you want to be near the City, this isn't good unless you have a car but, in saying this, there are loads of taxis. It's very easy to find.

I found the reception guy good and he was helpful. We didn't use the internet so can't comment.
It was quiet and affordable. Car parking is on the side of the hotel and there is easy after hours access. They have a gym bike and, I think, treddie... but I never got time to go there.

I liked it mainly because it was affordable in a tourist town and suited us because we wanted two separate rooms. I would stay again.

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment on level 1 was more roomy and opened onto the pool area and spa. Very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak M, Manager at Apollo Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Sherry G,

Many thanks for your feedback for your recent stay at the Apollo hotel rotorua, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to our team and it definitely motivates all of us to provide more consistent good quality service for all our guest.

We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Deepak Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed just one night in Rotorua, and the Apollo was a comfortable and restful place to stay for that night. The facilities were all suited to our needs, and we didn't want for anything.

We booked a room with a spa bath, which was smaller than we expected, and very awkward to reach into to pop the plug in and start the bath. Bath took quite some time to fill, as well. The rest of the bathroom facilities were great, and very tastefully chosen.

We enjoyed our stay, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaharaminttu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak M, Manager at Apollo Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Kaharaminttu

Thank you for providing this positive feedback.

The Apollo Hotel is a family friendly hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again sometime !

Kind regards,
Deepak Mehta
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel was very clean but service was rude and awful. Felt unduly hounded by the manager. Would not recommend. What happened to the customer being right? Inter-connecting door between our 2 rooms was locked and tea bags not stocked up. Pool and spa facilities good too.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaH84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at Apollo Hotel Rotorua. I must it was an excellent experience. The Apartment was very nice and clean. The Hotel staff was courteous and warm. Excellent Room service.My family enjoyed the relaxing time there. I will recommend the travelers to stay there anytime.

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments are great, Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AbhayDaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deepak M, Manager at Apollo Hotel Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Abhay Daga,

Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Apollo Hotel Rotorua, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay; I have passed on your positive comments to all our staff members.
We look forward to welcome you in near future.

Kind Regards
Deepak Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great stay... Donna there was the highlight. Polite super efficient and helpful. That made our stay. She seemed to every thing.
Rooms small but clean we had adjoining studio rooms one queen and then other 2 singles. Booked online. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked for three adults and got room with one double and single bed. Requested three single and go a roll-out bed which was really uncomfortable and just sinks.
There was very small corner unit for tea and coffee and no extra space for toaster. There was only one sink in the bathroom and not in the room so a bit invonvenient for washing cups etc.
Overall not too bad.

Room Tip: Always call and check room details
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvinder N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 mi away
Rotorua Coachman Spa Motel
0.2 mi away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
2.5 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,176 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#27 of 92 in Rotorua
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Hotel Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Hotel Rotorua

Address: 7 Tryon Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quest Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#37 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Apollo Hotel Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Apollo Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing