We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
Arista Capri Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$125
US$103
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$892
US$642
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$144
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aura Accommodation(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$116
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
55
59
32
17
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
59
32
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadjoining studiotwo singles pushed togetherwhakarewarewa villageinterconnecting roomsfridge and microwavemountain bike parkpool and spa areathe holiday inntour busvery nice place to staywould stay againlate at nightbusiness tripsmall kitchenettelate checkthe room was niceenjoyed our stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Stayed in Quest in Rotorua for 2 nights. The rooms were very comforable and clean.
No hair dryer.....
But enough amemities (shampoo, soap..) for 2 nights.
The staff was very nice and acoomodating. WI-FI with fee. You have to ask the from desk staff to have acess code. Which is little inconvenient since the lobby staff is gone a 8pm.
The location is little far 5km from the town center but if you have a car, No problem!
Overall, it was very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We were meant to stay 2 nights with our family but after a hot summer night, cold showers at 3am - no air conditioning or fans - we decided to leave early. It was sufforcating the heat.

The rooms are clean, bit small but modern. We found the rooms not very well designed and as walking into the bathroom you had to be careful not to bang your head on the shower glass end. The areas between doors and items were extremely tight.
The hosts graciously allowed us to leave early. We picked this hotel also because it had an outdoor pool. This was very disappointing as the surrounding deck and concrete area is in need of some repair and care. There was hardly any chairs/loungers to use and the general area was unwelcoming.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Just got back from a three night stay at Quest. We had originally booked a B&B but then we found the website wotif. After a recomendation from a friend (and a quick glance at the hotel website's gallery) I decided to book as the rate was so cheap - about $97 per night.
On our way to the hotel we realised that the directions we had printed out (sent from the wotif website) had been cut off mid sentence (a problem with the hotel's email, not the printer), so we had to check at the information centre for directions. The woman told us it was a nice hotel.
We checked in easily. The reception area looked nice and modern and the women at the desk were very friendly. Heaps of parking- it looked like it was quiet, despite being school holidays. We were given our key and given directions to our room on the first floor.
This room was a studio with a queen bed, an LCD TV, shower, fridge and microwave. It had a view of the parking lot, with a small terrace. Seeing as the purpose of my vacation was to relax as much as possible I picked up the phone to enquire if there was any rooms available with a bath. We were told yes, but it would be an extra $25 a night for the upgrade, but that the room also had cooking facilities.
Partner and I decided yes, so within five minutes we had checked into a different room on the second floor (only two floors). We were immediately glad we did. For the extra $25 a night (making it roughly $123 per night) we had a one bedroom apartment with a small kitchen which had a stove top, jug, microwave, toaster and sink. The bathroom had a bath, as promised. There was also a lounge with a sofa, a dining room table, a large LCD television and an extra single bed.
In the seperate bedroom with a king sized bed there was another (but smaller) LCD television. Our room overlooked the pool which was nicer then the parking lot. The bed had an electric blanket and each room had heaters. The apartment looked quite new, the kitchen facilities looked as if they hadn't been used before.
Maid service came everyday, they even did the dishes that we lazily didn't get around to washing straight away.
Overall we were very impressed, especially considering the rate. Would definitely recomend to others, and probably even stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilkelzboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

Not sure what is with the posts that say the place is dirty/noisy etc. We stayed for 2 nights in a room facing the street and it was pretty quiet and overall and excelent stay. The rooms were newly renovated and modern. Staff were very helpful and always greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

I stayed at the Quest Rotorua on Friday night and found my entire experience left me feeling very indifferent about the entire experience. We had booked 3 rooms.

We arrived just before 9pm and buzzed on the intercom to be let in. A person (assume they were staff) did appear at the top of the stairs in their pjs and pointed to our keys (which were found in an envelope on Reception with our names and room numbers on them) They also thankfully told us from the top of the stairs that we would need our keys to get in and out the main doors. Whilst we were sorting out our luggage etc another group arrived and we advised them of the “rules of the house”. The hotel looked and felt like the 4 rooms in total were occupied that night so certainly not busy at all.

When it was time for bed, I pulled back the sheets to find a huge stain that covered an entire half of the huge king size bed.. I can only assume that the sheets had not been changed from the previous guests as no one in their right mind could have put those sheets on the bed thinking they were clean.

Once we managed to get hold of a staff member to advise them of the dirty sheets it only took them 10 minutes to bring clean sheets (no pillow cases were brought so that was another slight delay). Again the staff member looked like they were in their PJs and their English was very stilted and they clearly had a limited English vocabulary.

We were offered a complimentary late check out of 12 noon which we declined as we were needing to be on the road again reasonably early. About 15 minutes after the staff member had left our room we received a phone call from the same staff member asking us if wanted to room move…. Shouldn’t that have been done BEFORE the sheets were changed? They certainly had many rooms to choose from. We declined. Again…. . were they checking their manual?

The following morning at about 8.15am, I could clearly hear staff talking loudly in the courtyard under my room – could this not have been done elsewhere and not at such a volume.

When we did go to check out the farewell was non existent. We handed the keys over, staff member said “Thanks – did you enjoy your stay” – (it was the same person from the night before so they should have recognised me) I felt they really didn’t care at all and were just following a manual of how to manage / work in a Quest – it seemed very scripted. As we had booked and paid on line the staff member had nothing to do regarding the check in check out experience so a little “warm hospitality” would have been nice and not above expectations.

Would I stay there again???

Hmmmm not sure…. The rest of the room was certainly adequate and the bed large and comfortable. Service from staff was very basic – perhaps they should undertake a Kiwi hospitality course so that they may understand Kiwi culture a service standards a little better. Other attention to detail items lacked – am a stickler for correct information and found there to be errors throughout their guest compendium – not a biggie but these errors speak volumes about standards and quality.

The door to the balcony was very difficult to lock, there was a light out in the bathroom and the water pressure was very soft.

Overall through a good concept and product – they just need to work on the basics. and provide CLEAN SHEETS!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews