We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wildest ride” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Rats Raft & Kayak

River Rats Raft & Kayak
Book In Advance
More Info
US$107.43*
and up
Lake Rotoiti Evening Kayak Tour including Hot Springs, Glowworm Caves and BBQ...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Rats have been offering quality adventures for over 30 years. There’s something for everyone, from a gentle grade 2 scenic raft trip suitable for participants as young as 5 years old, through to full on grade 5 action featuring the world's highest commercially rafted waterfall. Kayaking is available as freedom hire or a guided tour. Paddle the local lakes to a secluded beach or enjoy a hot water swim only accessible by boat.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tokyo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wildest ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

I picked a Kaituna tour so that I can get a ride of my life. I was great. A variety of streams and waterfalls, slow and rapid, small and big. It was very nice of our guide to rotate our positions so that everyone can have equal fun.

We lost one paddle at some point, meaning one person had to sit through for some time. We could have recovered it, but the guide did not try to do it. It was very disappointing when it's your turn without your paddle. Also, one of the guides damaged my suitcase. So 4 stars at most.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AboveTheSurface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our trip. Its great to hear you enjoyed the rafting.
I have sent you a message to try and get some more information on the aspects of the trip that you were not happy with. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    34
    5
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a group of four women who decided at the last minute we wanted to fit in quick kayak before we got on the road to Auckland for our flight back to Melbourne. Justin and the team made the experience so easy. Safety, comfort and friendly service are high priorities for this business.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fairywings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad I did it......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Friendly and informative crew. Great experince for novice and experienced alike. Loved it. Bonus to have the photos to re live the adventure!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing, such great fun!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

We booked this rafting trip last minute, I am not experienced in rafting but had such a fun time, the guide Stephen was really knowledgable about the river. It was defiantly a highlight of our trip and would recommend the number 5 river raft trip. It was value for money and great to get picked up and dropped off.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best thing ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was by far the best thing I've ever done! Ever! It was so much fun and the 7m waterfall was just amazing! Scenery was unreal! Our guide, Steve was very friendly, helpful, resourceful, and as you would expect, experienced! Would definitely do it again and recommend it to everyone! :D

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlAnoudMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Rats Raft & Kayak also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to River Rats Raft & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing