We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome thrills, awesome guides - a great experience.”

River Rats Raft & Kayak
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$77.64*
and up
Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Rats have been offering quality adventures for over 30 years. There’s something for everyone, from a gentle grade 2 scenic raft trip suitable for participants as young as 5 years old, through to full on grade 5 action featuring the world's highest commercially rafted waterfall. Kayaking is available as freedom hire or a guided tour. Paddle the local lakes to a secluded beach or enjoy a hot water swim only accessible by boat.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Awesome thrills, awesome guides - a great experience.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Sitting in the lobby of the Novotel, glass in hand, checking out photos and laughs from this mornings spectacular trip down the Kaituna River and over the "big drop". Thanks to our 3 guides; Hoss, Lyndon and Tim, a sweet trip bros! Very much recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    35
    5
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We are a group of five and did the kaituna river grade five course. It was beginner-friendly as most of us did the course without any experience. The trip was exciting and fun. Our guide Neville was the best! He was adventrous, humerous and skilled. He made the course extra special! The photo were great and the price was decent. Highly recommend this trip, just remember to cut your nails ladies as i broke mine ;)

Helpful?
Thank Rong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Great fun and entertaining guides”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

It was bucketing down with rain but the guides and the experience of rafting in Rotorua more than compensated. Having done rafting in other countries I can fairly say this was the best. My only complaint was that it was not long enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MarcusPriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRatNZ, Owner at River Rats Raft & Kayak, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We raft all the available section of river starting at the dam as the water exits Lake Rotoiti and taking out above a Grade 6 rapid that is not commercially runnable.
The length is both its best and worst feature, it is very easy to fit into an itinerary but such a great trip always leaves you wanting more.
For those who prefer longer on the water the Rangitaiki & Wairoa Rivers both provide longer trips.
The Wairoa is a dam release grade 5 river that runs selected Sundays from September to May. It is possible to experience both Grade 5 trips (Kaituna and Wairoa) in one day for those looking for the ultimate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thrilling”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Took a trip to see Okere falls after Cyclone Lusi had departed on Sunday afternoon, we saw people rafting down the waterfall and thought we'd like to give it a try.

We drove back down to Mourea where we had passed the River Rats site and enquired if they had any availability that afternoon. Luckily no-one had booked for the scheduled run at 15:30 and we were able to go straightaway. We got kitted up with wet suit, warm fleece top, boots and helmet and made our way to the river with our instructor and companion towing the raft and a kayak.

We got into the water and jumped in raft with the instructor (just the 3 of us) and his companion went off in the kayak to ride shotgun (backup if we fell in). After some health and safety instruction and a guide on how to sit (hold on securely) and paddle off we went. We had great fun navigating the river with guidance from the instructor. The two waterfall drops were exhilarating. We managed to stay inside the raft for the duration of the trip but got pretty wet 'surfing' in the waterfall (beware). We also had time to enjoy the scenic views of the river from the raft on the quieter stretches.

All-in-all a great activity, thoroughly enjoyed thanks to River Rats.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5tings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

This was my first white water experience and I couldn't of picked a better place to start. The guides were amazing and any nerves I had went away quickly once we got started. The scenery throughout was amazing. I highly recommend for beginners or experienced rafters!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jask83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Rats Raft & Kayak also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Okere Falls, Rotorua District
 

Been to River Rats Raft & Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing