We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Apartment style Accommodation”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment style Accommodation”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

great place hosts are extremely friendly and helpful, apartment style accommodation two levels the second floor is a mezzanine. They are very spacious, with a self fill thermal heated spa style baths in your own private outside courtyard. The kids loved the themed playground and the resident dog Ted!

Room Tip: unit 15 was opposite the playground and on the end of the building so allowed us to watch the kids w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for your review, we are happy to hear the kids enjoyed the holiday too and made the most of the playground. Ted is very popular with our visiting families, it’s great your family could meet him too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    644
    184
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
404
258
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Have just stayed here for 4 nights and could not have been happier with facilities. Room was net and tidy with plenty of warm bedding for those chilly nights. Hosts Mike & Ann-Marie were lovely and also gave us a lot of ideas of free things to do in & around Rotorua with our young children. Onsite playground was great for the kids for those in between activities times. Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shorts3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for your review. Yes Rotorua can get some chilly nights but with our thermal heating and electric blankets on the beds you never know when staying at Arista.
There is a lot on offer in Rotorua with a range of activities making it a great place to visit on any budget. We are always happy to give ideas and help plan activities.
See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked this at the last minute since we weren't planning on staying in Rotorua originally, but I am glad we did. This was in a convenient location and was a really great value for the size of the rooms. Compared to the other places we stayed on our trip, it wasn't my favorite, but there was nothing wrong with it either. The service was nice and the room clean, it just didn't have the personality or warmth of some of the other places we stayed. We were in a room tucked back in a corner, which was nice and quiet and had a really large courtyard. The spa outside was nice to have on the cool evenings. They did have the best selection of tv channels out of the places we stayed and the bathroom was enormous!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aknoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for your review.
We are pleased you made a last minute stop in Rotorua and chose to stay with us at Arista. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your private spa and the spacious bathroom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are a travelling young family from Australia. We had come across Arista be accident and so glad we did. Out of the 6 accommodation places we stayed at, this definitely takes the cake. They have an awesome playground for the kids, DVD player and free movies for the evenings. The WIFI was fantastic.....best so far. These guys have a FIBRE link with great WIFI service, which made it great for remoting into my PC back home in Australia. The service is outstanding, Great local knowledge and directions, massive rooms and definitely great value for money. The only problem was we should have stayed longer.....2 nights is not enough in Rotorua.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monijaso80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for your lovely review,
It sounds like your un planned stay with us was a great and memorable part of your holiday with the family, we hope next time you can stay longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Family of 4 (2 adults 2 boys) staying late Sept into October 2013. Owners Mike & Annmarie of the Arista of Rotorua made our stay like a home away from home (just more spoilt). Nothing is to much trouble for them and they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable = from local advice, cheaper deals, and you can tell that they really do care about you enjoying your stay. The room (8) we had - family mezzanine - was all we (2 adults 2 boys 12 & 16) could ask for. Best of all it was spotlessly clean, very large (could sleep 7), had all the appliances you need: especially geothermal heating which was fab. Mike has even created a mountain bike wash area on site, so Mountain Bikers look no further since you can park directly outside your unit, wash them down and enjoy what tracks Rotorua has to offer. Do yourself a favour give this place good thought they will make you feel VERY welcome & at a very reasonable price and very comfortable = what else could you ask for. Thanks Arista - memories for life.

Room Tip: Can only say room 8 was GR8 - towards the back & away from the road (which was actually quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEGGSTER66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome review. You guys were great to have here.

We always try and have that Kiwi casual approach to make people feel at home. Our Aussie’s, well we normally just go click early in the peace and then the fun begins.

Thanks for mentioning the mountain bike hose down area. This has been in the planning for a year and I have finally completed it. It’s perfect for washing down the bikes ready for transporting back to Aussie on the plane. In fact I have just uploaded some images of a couple Aussie guests washing their bikes down.

We hope to see you back some time. Regards Mike and Annemarie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A really big room that was comfortable and well located to Rotorua's attractions. The guy at the front desk (sorry, forgot his name) took time out to describe sights tailored to the short time I had and the route I'd be driving the next day, which was greatly appreciated. Although we were traveling as a couple, this would be particularly suited for a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for you feedback.
With our local knowledge we are always happy to help guests plan a tailored itinerary for their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My Dad, my partner & I stayed here in mid August for one night & it had everything we needed plus more!

We were in Rotorua to visit a family member in hospital & just needed a nice, warm, comfortable place to stay that offered breakfast & Arista of Rotorua definitely delivered that for us. After a long drive, it was nice to come to a motel with nice staff (plus a nice dog!) as well as a warm room with comfy beds! We also had the added bonus of a spa bath, which we used!

We were quite impressed with the way they dealt with breakfast, you order the ingredients (they have a good list of hot & cold options), which they then deliver to you frozen the night before so that you can cook yourself in the morning! We thought it was very practical & it meant we could cook it the way we liked it & whenever we wanted to.

Overall, a nice experience & we were very glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Hi thanks for you review,
We are happy you chose to stay with us while in Rotorua and are pleased you had a warm and restful night sleep followed by a delicious cooked breakfast the following morning. Your feedback on our “cook your own” breakfast option is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Property: Arista of Rotorua
Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing