We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and comfortable”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a double story room which was a big space with a spa pool out back. Big bed, big bathroom and ability to cook own meals if thats your preference. Very quiet and comfortable and free wifi. Friendly staff who were very helpful with directions and things to do. A great place to stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jabba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi there Jabba,
Thanks heaps for your great review. We really appreciate the time your have taken and glad you had a great stay with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Arista exceeded our expectations and that's pretty hard to do considering all the positive reviews on trip advisor. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Mike loves Rotorua and knows all the best activities and the local hidden gems. We had four fun-filled days sorted within half an hour of arrival. We stayed in the three bedroom apartment which has a superb kitchen and plenty of space for everyone to relax. Arista is the place to stay if you value fantastic service and comfy beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Tamsin, We love Aussie families like yours that arrive and waste no time and get straight into venturing around our beautiful town.

Yes we certainly do our best to point out some great local spots of the tourist beaten track which are spectacular. The three bed room apartment you had is proving to be a popular option for families like yours and has been so busy, it’s a very comfortable house.

We hope all is well in Aussie after your adventure in NZ. Thanks for coming to New Zealand and thanks for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Clean large rooms with kitchen. Service was friendly and helpful. We were a large group 3 adults and 2 kids and enjoyed our stay there. Quite close to food, supermarket, gas and attractions. The room had an outdoor spa but we did not use it. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Senthil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi there, thanks so much for your nice review. We are happy you had a nice stay with us. We agree with you that we are in a great location. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The staff is welcoming.
The location is a bit far from city center but that's alright.
The rooms are well furnished, the jacuzzi should be replaced/renewed.
The bad point was that our room was on the main street of rotorua and a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi there, thanks very much for your review. Yes we have a plan for the spa pools. It’s a case of we could have done everything at once. Sorry that you found the room a little noisy. Normally Fenton Street is quiet at night time so that is a rear mention of that slight issue. Thanks again and thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The location of the hotel is pretty good, every thing seems to be 5 mins drive from the hotel.
The room was pretty good. We had got the one with the Jacuzzi (or the Spa as they call it in NZ). The only minor issue is that the bedroom is at a different level than the bathroom/toilet. Also,the price felt a little more expensive than our other stays in NZ. But overall, clean and quiet room.
Mike, the hotel manager/owner, was very helpful and congenial. Not only did he help us with the usual "must sees", he gave us in with some insider tips that only locals know. He also gave us some discount coupons.
In summary, I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Room # 10. We had asked for a quiet room and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hatori_hanzo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Hi there,
Thanks very much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a nice time at our motel. The odd person might find the bathroom being an issue down stairs but our rooms were built long before we brought the business. I guess you either like it or you don’t. Most seem to find the cathedral ceilings and openness of the rooms quite unique and spacious.

I’m glad you found our tips and discount vouchers helpful. Rotorua has so much to do and you can waste a lot of time so I hope this makes up for you feeling that we were pricey. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I don't often feel minded to write reviews but after a two night stay at the Arista I am bound to...
I'll keep this short- I doubt you'll ever stay in a place that has a friendlier or more helpful owner, or one that offers so much value either!
Mike is a mine of good advice and so enthusiastic that it is contagious, hah-hah! His accommodation had everything that I wanted...I recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Si90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Hi there, so much for your cool little review, we are glad you had a great time and we got you excited about Rotorua. We love this place so it makes it easy for us to tell guests all about it. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My husband, 4 year old son, and I just spent 3 nights at Arista and we absolutely loved it. We were kindly greeted by Mike upon arrival with a breakfast basket and were escorted to our room (#10). The room was nicely decorated, quiet, and very clean. The split level layout (beds upstairs, living room downstairs) was perfect for a family with young kids.

This hotel has everything you might need while away from home - kitchenette, spa tub, wifi, kids playground, washer/dryer (coins required), nearby shops and restaurants, and friendly staff. Mike, Anne Marie, and Shona always so sweet. Whether it was something needed for the room, directions, restaurant suggestions, or booking tours for us - they were always happy to help. I would highly recommend the Arista when visiting Rotorua!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMY26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are just happy you had a nice time in Rotorua. It's a great place to explore. Thank you also for your nice description and kind words on our rooms. These rooms are 62 square meters so they are massive. We think that makes good value. We are glad you stayed with us and thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
765 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#9 of 91 in Rotorua
480 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £90 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing