We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arista of Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Rotorua Lake Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$101
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
707
206
31
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
707
206
31
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanne mariemezzanine floorprivate spahot tubfree dvdsplace to staya great stayfamily unitstayed here for nightsstayed longermountain bikingnew zealandenjoyed our staylocal knowledgeliving roomwould definitely stay here againhome away from home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here during our honeymoon between the 1st and 3rd of Jan. The motel is slightly off from the center of town, about a km or so down on Fenton St, so if you do not have a car be prepared to do some walking! Rotorua is pretty spread out and there is no central location as such as far as the activities are concerned, but if you do not have a car it is probably better staying close to the restaurants and the tourism rotorua where all the shuttle buses stop at for various activities.

In spite of us not getting a car rental, Mike (the owner) helped us tremendously. We got stuck one morning as the activity we had booked the previous evening didn't pan out as the driver said his shuttle was full and offered to take us the next day instead. That however left us with a spare morning with nothing else to do, and since we had limited time in the city, Mike offered to drop us off to Te-Puia which was only a couple minutes of a drive from the motel. He also gave us discount coupons which came in handy and saved us some money. He was more than happy to help us with anything we needed while we were in the city, from picking activities, to providing free and fast wifi, to giving us walking directions to the supermarket etc. Without Mike, i can safely say our stay in Rotorua would likely have been a disaster.

The room itself was as i had expected from the reviews i had previously read. The bottom floor has a TV and DVD player, along with a dining table and kitchenette. All the utensils and kitchen equipment was provided, so we could easily make our own meals. Directly outside but still connected to the room was the spa. It took a little while getting filled, but once full we had a great time there, the jets were just perfect. Only minor complaint was that it looked a bit old and worn, but nothing bad really as it worked flawlessly. The bathrooms were ok as well, everything you needed was provided and we had no problems with anything. The bedroom was located above on the loft, and had a nice and comfortable bed. We also had a second tv in the room so we could watch from the bed without having to walk down.

Overall, i think having Mike around made our stay in Rotorua a great one, and if we visit again we will be sure to stay here once more. Do not judge hotels or motels only on the facilities that are provided. Sometimes its the little extras that you get such as the hospitality of the owners that end up making your trip a whole lot better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjaveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

All I can stay is wow from your review, that’s a detailed review.

You were both travelers that had done a lot of travelling and experience a lot of challengers but with your great attitude you were still having a great time. You were both amazing people and I enjoyed your presence a lot.

Your last phase on your review nails us on the head. We pride ourselves on providing great comfortable rooms with all the traveler needs. We are not 5 star rated and don’t aim to be, but if you’re after after a great time in Rotorua with awesome kiwi hospitality that can think outside the square to make your stay a great one, then that’s us!

Thank you again for your review, you have put a lot of effort into this. Good luck on your new life together and we hope to see you again in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The owners of this hotel really care about their guests. They were so helpful in every way, from finding restaurants to touring in the area. Mike and his Anne-Marie made the most helpful suggestions, even giving us names of nature places that do not appear on all the maps.
The rooms were also great. Clean, spacious, and warm. We had friends stay at another hotel that did not come close to this one in space, facilities, and cleanliness, and especially in the wonderful service.
Would 100% return to this hotel if we ever revisited Rotura.

Room Tip: Ask Mike for his touring suggestions!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, General Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Charles,
Thanks for the awesome review. We are both glad you found our service great. You have both come along way so we certainly do our best to make sure you see the best of Rotorua. We are passionate about people leaving our place having seen our beautiful town having had a great time. Thanks again for taking the time to write us the review, we really appreciate it.
Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Arista is ok'ish for a 1 night stay but it surely cannot be deserving of the 4th best place to stay in Rotorua. We had a lot of issues which it would be unfair to list as Anne-Marie (the owner) attended immediately to all of them which she assured us were not the norm. Aside from the actual 'on the day' problems', the spa & bathroom are dated - a scenic picture stuck on the wall to give the impression of a view & an unappealing shower curtain don't do it for me. Enough said.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CillaL-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

We live in a highly corrosive environment which you can smell in the air. Hence we go through multiple jugs, toasters TVs etc. Any thing electronic will rust and fail. So we are sorry the incident occurred but we have spare backups that we were able to fix within minutes. Unfortunately these things happen in life. And we gave you a bottle of wine!

We were number No.4 on trip advisor, put there by past happy guests, we don’t choose this. And a week before you arrived that room you stayed in was qual marked at 4 ½ star which we do not judge. One of his comments was the painting gives the spa area some good colour and character. The aim is not certainly to present a real view.

It seems like your were after a 5 star accommodation, that’s not us and we don’t pretend to be. Some guests you will never please and we certainly did our best for your one night stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a double story room which was a big space with a spa pool out back. Big bed, big bathroom and ability to cook own meals if thats your preference. Very quiet and comfortable and free wifi. Friendly staff who were very helpful with directions and things to do. A great place to stay

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jabba70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi there Jabba,
Thanks heaps for your great review. We really appreciate the time your have taken and glad you had a great stay with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Arista exceeded our expectations and that's pretty hard to do considering all the positive reviews on trip advisor. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Mike loves Rotorua and knows all the best activities and the local hidden gems. We had four fun-filled days sorted within half an hour of arrival. We stayed in the three bedroom apartment which has a superb kitchen and plenty of space for everyone to relax. Arista is the place to stay if you value fantastic service and comfy beds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamsin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hi Tamsin, We love Aussie families like yours that arrive and waste no time and get straight into venturing around our beautiful town.

Yes we certainly do our best to point out some great local spots of the tourist beaten track which are spectacular. The three bed room apartment you had is proving to be a popular option for families like yours and has been so busy, it’s a very comfortable house.

We hope all is well in Aussie after your adventure in NZ. Thanks for coming to New Zealand and thanks for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews