We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in the self catering 3 bedroom apartment. The apartment is excellent for families with young kids. Plenty of space- a real home away from home. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank alymoore78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thanks for the review Alyson! I'm glad you and the family had a great time and that we could reunite the kids with their toys! Hope to see you all again soon. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Arista in early April - in a mezzanine unit. Mike and Annemarie were superb in looking after all our needs and questions.
The unit was great with the spa and upstairs bedroom. We had one off the road - so was quiet too. Internet, movies, newspaper all covered - just like an expensive hotel - but with the flexibility of having a kitchen.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray_and_Karina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Murray and Karina, thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. The private spa pools are definitely a big hit here! We are always happy to answer any questions and help you to maximize your time here in Rotorua. Glad you were happy with the free internet, movies and newspaper too! Hope to see you again one day. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Fabulous Motel, Service was exceptional, room was lovely and warm with great facilities!!! A group of five stayed, would all stay again and highly recommend! the spa in the room was lovely, very private too!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thanks so much for the review! We're glad you had a fantastic stay with us. We all work really hard to provide quality service and it's nice to hear that we delivered! We hope to see all five of you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I stayed a long weekend at the arista and absolutely loved it. It was a busy time being school holidays and Anzac weekend but this didn't phase the managers, who went above and beyond to make our stay so lovely. Annemarie was so friendly and full of recommendations of things to do. The room itself is so spacious and we loved the mezzanine bedroom which made more room for the lounge. It was nice and warm and kitchen fully stocked of plates etc for 3 people. We'll be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Suzi_the_Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi Suzi, thank you for taking the time to review us! We're always busy here but love taking the time to meet our guests and share our local knowledge. We're happy you and your partner had such a great time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This place was fantastic! There was plenty of room for five of us, it was conveniently located and great for a family getaway. We could catch up on some of the newer movies from the DVD library and the kids loved the spa :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N1ck_C2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thanks for the review Nick. We are glad you all had a great stay. The free DVD rental is very popular and we definitely make an effort to keep it up to date with all of the new movies! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Arista is an average standard family kiwi motel - nothing more. It is certainly not a top 10 offering.

We stayed here for a couple of days over Easter. On the plus side they have good sized rooms with lots of beds for family groups and the management are very pleasant.

On the other side of the coin, the standard of cleaning could be a little higher (we found chocolate wrappers and other detritus under the beds) and there were quite a few areas in our unit that could have done with a lick of paint. Most of the fittings in our unit were also showing their 20+ year age. Prospective occupants should also be aware there is no fan in the bathroom so it can get pretty humid in there and the upstairs areas can get quite cool overnight probably due to the high ceiling.

The Arista is fine if you want a large family room in an average motel but if I was re- booking in Rotorua I would choose to spend my $210 per night somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSAX88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danjoge, Owner at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Wow! thanks so much for your review! we are stoked to be rated as 'average' by you! when you've rated 'THE HILTON QUEENSTOWN' arguably one of the top hotels in NZ as 'DISSAPOINTING' and the top 4 Hotel in Melbourne as average! that puts us in great company!
As for your concerns, I'm sorry we could not specifically address your room as we had no paying guests from Wellington over Easter, so we are not sure with which of our guests, you were staying. But we will certainly address the cleaning issue, We have a 9.1 ranking on booking.com for cleanliness, but in our staffs defense we have run at 90% occupancy since September, so our staff are pretty tired.
We have been refurbishing Arista since 2012 since then, every double bed, curtains, linen, taps (except spas, being done now) bathrooms have been regrouted, kitchens are new, every item in the kitchens was replaced last year; new tvs DVD players, all new cabinetry, headboards, side tables, artwork, wiring mirrors, have all been replaced. The only 'original' items in some of the rooms are light fittings and luggage racks. Yes we know the paintwork needs attention in a couple of rooms, one was done prior to Easter and we will be attacking the rest in May. As we go the light fittings will be modernized at the same time.
We are sorry you didn't like us.... it was horrible weather, so you certainly didn't see us in our best light. We are also sorry you couldn't tell us this yourself, we love our guests and nothing makes us happier than righting wrongs if we are given the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

great location, friendly and helpful staff, reasonably priced accommodation that should be on every traveler's list of top choice when visiting Rotorua! Mike was particularly help to make sure everyone of us (6 adults and 4 kids) settle in comfortably. :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hi Casey, thanks for the review! We're glad you and the rest of your group were comfortable here. We find we are a popular choice for large groups with plenty of room for everyone. It is our pleasure to help out any way we can. Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing