We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant”
Review of Arista of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arista of Rotorua
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place has everything you need for a comfortable holiday stay. It has been recently (and tastefully) refurbished and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The mezzanine bedroom is something a bit different and it was nice to have a private spa pool. Plenty of living space in the lounge, and tvs upstairs and down (with a handy DVD library at reception). Walking distance to the town centre. We found the room too hot with the heating as it was set, so ended up turning it off (though ventilation/condensation is a bit of an issue overnight and with the bathroom).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

*Note: Run by Mike. His brother Richard runs Argent motor lodge in Hamilton.

Stayed 2 nights (3/16-17). Excellent service from the staff. We joked with the owner's brother thenight before about getting complimentary champaigne and chocolates in our room. And upon leanring that we were staying in Arista, he phoned Mike who gave us Speight's and Cadbury chocolates in our room. ^_^ The staff was knowledgable about the area and Mike was so infomred about the hiking options in the area that we had to adjusted our schedule to accomodate his suggestions. We were not disappointed. The rooms are 2 storied and large. It was like staying in your own private town house. Plus they had a private whirlpool jacuzzi bath in the rear of each room. Everything about the place was great.

Only thing that kept it from getting 5 stars: I was in room 14 and a freind was in 15, the two rooms closest to Marguerita Street. In the morning, we felt every Mack truck that drove past. It woke us several times. Plus the windows didn't completely stop the road noise, although that was only an issue in the morning. Be sure to ask for a room with a low number, away from Marguerita. Also, the non-adjustable shower heads were at a height of 5 1/2 feet, which could be annoying to taller patrons.

4/5 - Phenominal service, great room for the price, damned truck induced earthquakes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a low number, away from Marguerita Street to avoid road noise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pokemonslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at the Arista for 3 nights arriving on the day of the Marathon. Annemarie gave us such a friendly welcome and we were very impressed with our accommodation. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. My children were very impressed that they got a tv in their room as well as the one downstairs. It was really lovely to come back to a lovely cosy room after our adventures in the daytime. the beds were the most comfortable we had during our entire New Zealand holiday.

Thanks Annemarie and Mike, we wish you every success.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you Mrs Dew for taking the time to review us. It's great you and the family were so impressed with the accommodation! After such busy days sightseeing, it's definitely important to get a decent nights rest so I'm glad you were able to here. The separate living area upstairs for the kids comes in handy for sure and I'm sure they enjoyed a DVD or two. It's great you were able to stay 3 nights to fit in all of the activities in Rotorua! Take care and we will see you all again next time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After travelling a few hours to get to rotorua it was wonderful to arrive at such a nice motel .We were made very welcome and cannot praise it enough.Mike gave us good advice on the local amenities and we had an excellent Chinese meal would definitely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: mezzanine for three was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thanks Pauline. It's great we made such a good impression on you and we like to hear that you felt welcome here. All of the staff work hard to make sure you enjoy your stay and we love to help out with our local knowledge to make sure you have a great time in Rotorua. Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for the Rotorua marathon weekend, great location, clean and tidy room with a great hot tub out the back. Rooms were spacious and beds comfy with all the kitchen facilities you needed. Kids absolutely loved the playground its small and compact but perfect place as we could relax in the evenings and know the kids were happy in a fenced playground.
Great hosts to, they were really accommodating, even washing our little girls car seat as she got car sick on the drive up. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad you and your family had such a great time here with us. It was our pleasure to help you out with the car seat and we're glad that the kids enjoyed the playground. It definitely gets a lot of use! Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our extended family stayed here in the large apartment. My 9 yr/old daughter said this was her favorite place that we stayed in all of our New Zealand. I tend to agree. It felt like home. Great kitchen stocked with amenities, and plenty of room for 3 families with young children. The kids loved the playset. MIke & AnneMarie are just a pleasure to meet and stay with. Your experience here will be one of, if not the best in all of NZ. Thank you Mike & AnneMarie! Cheers,
Mike & Kate Burns & Murphy Families

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Mike, thanks for the review. We are happy to provide you and the extended family a home away from home. The 3 Bedroom apartment is a great choice for families like yours and we're glad the kids enjoyed the playground. Hope to see you all again this year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Typical family apartment with standard amenities (and some WiFi) in Rotorua. Added benefit is a spa pool as part of the unit. Downside is that the huge bedroom upstairs has no closet to hang clothes (might be normal in a local context) . Big plus are the friendly hosts with good knowledge of the area, very willing to go out of their way to give excellent advice on what to do off the beaten track. Location is close to key attractions such as Te Puia, but quite a walk to the City Centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike and Annema... G, Front Office Manager at Arista of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi kaehto, thanks for taking the time to review us! It's great that you enjoyed the private spa pool. I'm sorry you didn't notice the walk in closet at the top of the stairs to the large bedroom. Each room does have one for convenience and it is where we store the additional blankets too. We're glad you found our local knowledge useful. It is our pleasure to introduce our guests to areas "off the beaten track." We are definitely in a great location for the attractions as you said and we find the 20 minute walk from the town centre ensures we miss out on the noise from the centre. Thanks again for visiting with your family! Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
766 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#2 of 91 in Rotorua
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#16 of 91 in Rotorua
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#10 of 91 in Rotorua
482 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arista of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arista of Rotorua

Address: 296 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Cedar Lodge Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#2 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#3 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Business Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arista of Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want SPACE? Try us, we're the largest Units in Rotorua! Sleeping 1-8, they all have Kitchenettes, private spa pools, thermally heated, 2 TVs, DVD player and free DVD hire for family units. We have a bus stop at our door step. We are just a kilometre from town, and if you want to be really looked after while you visit Rotorua, stay with us! Qualmark 4.5 Star rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arista of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arista Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing