We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Ace Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ace Motor Lodge
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Took the family to Rotorua and stay here. The hosts were very good and let us have an early check in. We had a large group which the owners were very accommodating and very good price. For those with a large group, this is the place to stay! We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 are great family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardT2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

The manager is lovely and was more than happy to accommodate us. The room was cold and never really heated up, and there was no blind on the skylight above the bed which made it very drafty. The spa bath was great. Overall it's budget accommodation and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbsgrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a budget Motel , studio units $75 inc
What they provide is adequate , remembering you are only paying budget prices
Room was smallish separate bathroom and toilet
TV was an older style TV and needed tuning channels were all incorrect
Cleanliness was not that great , they had done a perfunctory job
When I got into bed I itched like crazy but them I i realised what the problem was , they had put brand new linen on the beds and it hadn't been washed so was all the starch that was making me itchy
Reception person was adequate didn't appear to have a good grasp of English
Overall the noise from the traffic wasn't as bad as I thought because I was in one of the front rooms along the roadside

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntoddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

There are a lot of motels in Rotorua making it difficult to pick the best one for our limited budget. I booked the Ace Motor Lodge because it sounded OK and it was cheap. This was a mistake. Our room was small, dingy and battered. There was a smell of mould. While the motel advertises private spa baths, all we got was a tiny shower. I would never stay in this motel again, and would not recommend it to anyone. For a few dollars more I am sure there are plenty of decent motels on Rotorua.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with friends in this motel.

We enjoyed it and everything we needed was provided. So nothing really to complain about. This is a budget accomodation and the price serves well to its amenities.

The owners are easy to deal with. Gave us discount when I told them we had seen better deal at Wotif. So I was very pleased with this simple gesture.

Overall stay, we were happy, safe & we got what we needed- free wifi, room, spa bath, and basic kitchenette. Lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wisdommatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

Hey this is a budget hotel after all so you do get what you pay for. Although not located in the very heart of town still walking distance from the city centre. A great base to see the sights of beautiful Rotorua. We had the "Star Gayser" we could see the stars at night when it's clear, but if you like to wake to a darkened room then this is definately not for you. Oh and close the windows at night as it can get quite stinky. Rooms are noisy at night but not so bad I couldn't sleep. And free Wifi is always a bonus to stay in touch with folks back home.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultrablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

There were 3 adults staying a couple and one extra, we asked for a two bedroom room and agreed to the 2nd bedroom being upstairs without seeing it. There was no door and when the 3rd adult came down the stairs he banged his head twice on the overhang. In the bathroom, I was the shorty and was the only one not to bang my head while at the basin which was set in under the stairs. Very pokey but did us for one night. Not exactly the cleanest place I have stayed.

Room Tip: choose a room without stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank This_is_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.6 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.7 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
325 reviews
0.0 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#60 of 92 in Rotorua
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#68 of 92 in Rotorua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Motor Lodge

Property: Ace Motor Lodge
Address: 319 Fenton Street, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ace Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing