We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for weekend away and always made feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for weekend away and always made feel welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We travel to Rotorua every couple of months to visit family and have always been made feel welcome and place is always clean, tidy and presentable. I have travelled within NZ and o'seas with my job and stayed in a number of motels/hotels, so you do get to appreciate good service and presentable rooms and that's what this motel does offer. Like most reviews, you cannot please everyone all of the time and people decide for themselves, but for a weekend away at good rates, check this motel out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohZen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    30
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

This is an older motel but it is well maintained. In a great location, 5 min into the city centre and 5 min to Kuira Park. Kuirau Park has thermal activity. The motel has 2 mineral pools and a heated swimming pool. Our room was very large and we had a private court yard with our own hot tub bath. There was also lovely bedding and the managers were very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdelaideJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

Kuirau was a cheap motel just minutes walk from central Rotorua. It has its own geothermal pools, which were nice to soak in, if you didn't mind the sulphur smell.

The couple who run the place were incrediably friendly and able to help us out with anything we needed. They were really friendly and always around.

The rooms were a bit outdated but still nice. You get what you pay for and for what your paying, outdated rooms are fine. They were quite spacious, which kitchen and everything.

My only problem with the place was the noise. Noise carried, especially in the mornings. We were woken each morning by a car outside at about 6am, sitting out the front, engine idling for at least 20 minutes every morning. Then at around 7am, having gotten back to sleep, a loud and noisy family leaving for the day would wake us again with the slamming of doors, and much shouting across the place.

Other than the noise though, this was a great place to stay and I'd reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

maybe not the classiest joint in town but clean and tidy and central. Stayed for 4 nights and found the place good value for money. We had the large 2 bed apartment and that was comfortable and well fitted out. Could have done with locks on the toilet and bathroom doors but that was probably the only minor complaint. John was very helpful and always had a smile and time for a chat and always happy to give advice and book trips for us. Pool was great and thermal pools hot and relaxing. Got a bit noisy over the weekend but with Ragamuffin going on thats hardly surprising! Would definitely stay there again. Thanks guys, had a great time

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

The motel was very date it and inadequate, the linings look clean but a greyish colour, the room we were allocated was an extension of the property and did not look very good, the thing that I hate the most was a plastic flower arrangement (orange flowers) cover with dust, the access to it was a skinny staircase not suitable for toddlers, the reception attendant was very rude, once in the room we were more than disappointed and decided to leave and find something else, our total stay less than 30 minutes.
We told the person in charged that we were not happy and wanted a refund not of that day but our next night she refuse and even shouted at me.
I recommend to find somewhere else to stay this place is not good value for money, on top of been inadequate for children or coking the management staff does not believe in customer service they are arrogant and rude to said the least.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sugey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonof, Owner at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Thank you for your review, We appreciate your partners appology for your behaviour and his comment on how there was nothing wrong with the room. We did offer your partner an up grade to a bigger room at no extra cost but he was sure that you would not like to look at it. We also told your partner that if we managed to sell the apartment we would refund the second night. As for my wife shouting at you im sure you will agree with me that that was not correct. We both hope you and your family enjoyed your stay in Rotorua.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

More basic than I was led to believe by the motel description. Cooking facilities inadequate- we set the fire alarm off twice just trying to make pancakes for breakfast. Nobody slept well. The "spa bath in private courtyard" was a cold concrete tub ; we followed the instructions but never managed to get it warm enough. No character, and just left with a feeling of disappointment. The two nights were supposed to be something of a treat for the family, but they would rather have stayed in a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at Kuirau Park with 8yr old grandson for a few days. Hard to get him out of the hot outdoor pool. Unit very clean, warm and inviting. We loved the beds, sleeping was no problem after a fun filled day.Private hot tub with bubbles and candles was a must each evening. Tresta and John made us feel very welcome, and was able to answer any query we had about the local area and the many activities available to us. The lodge is very central to town so we were a short walk to cafes and the lake and Kuirau park reserve. Our unit was very quiet and we weren't disturbed by any road traffic at all.
We will be staying here again sometime in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#50 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.0 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#87 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Property: Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing