We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What! Our own pool!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #81 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Balclutha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What! Our own pool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a top spot Rotorua is. We stayed one night as part of our North Island road trip and found the little bit extra in fee was worth it as we got our very own private hot pool at the back of our room. We found the proprietor to be very friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool. It costs a few dollars more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    30
    21
    13
    9
See reviews for
34
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokoroa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great place to join with family and friends. Love the mineral pools and the outdoor heated pool. Not too hot on the unit with pool attached its like one huge clay pot. Not keen on the fold down couch as it is uncomfortable to sleep on. Great stay, for a great price, close to town, perfect for movie lovers as the reading theatre is right across the road. Ruck and maul is just up from the theatre so great for somene who wants to enjoy a cold one in front of a large screen watching your favorite sport

Room Tip: Dont go for the room with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Te aroha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

An older motel and a bit dated inside. Rather chilly, however an extra heater available. Roomy. Very clean. Very nice linen on bed, therefore warm and comfortable (despite no electric blanket). Hosts most obliging. A good central location for easy walk to shopping and to Kuirau Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have used this motel a few times now over the years and it certainly needs a revamp now. The facilities are very tired, eg rotten wood in the bathroom, curtains that only just meet in the bedrooms. There was not much in the way of service for these rooms - no beds made or dishes done - it's nice to have something for the money you pay, not just a roof over your head. Saying that, the location is great, but I'm not sure if we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Booked via phone for 2 bedroom apartment for 4 of us. On arrival was charged $160 for 2 bedroom, went upstairs only to find we had been given a 1 bedroom unit with only 3 beds in total. reception staff advised this was all they had, no apology given. Room we received was shown online at a charge of only $100 as well so felt had tried to rip us off . Guy on reception didnt offer to help I had to ask for him to ring other motels to find us somewhere to stay at such short notice. He found us a 3 bedroom for $185 when I asked if they would cover the extra $25 since it was their stuff up was told no we dont do that, really didnt seem to care he was spoiling a family holiday at all, I could maybe understand that mistakes happen but you expect people to accept responsiblity, apologise for the mistake and offer to help rectify it, extremely disappointed in the service here. I even advised that I would be placing bad feedback on sites about them! Sent an email to the address listed on website to advise owners perhaps, but never heard anything back from them either. We weren't the only ones that day either there was also another lady with young kids that had booked a unit with own pool which her kids had been excited about, she had been let down too, and when we left to take the 3 bedroom at the extra cost because we were left with no other options at the time, she was still looking for a room elsewhere!Bad form Kuirau Motel, will not be recommending you!

Room Tip: Request to check that the room you are given is the one you booked before paying anything
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuirau Park M, Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hi Lisa,

We are so sorry for what had happened with your booking and we recognise the fault was from our end. As explained to you, we had a computer crashed and bookings got mucked up. We did our best to fix things for you by offering you an alternative unit (1 bedroom) that accommodates the number of people you had. We beg to differ that we gave you a 1 bedroom unit for the price of a 2 bedroom unit. That 1 bedroom unit has never been sold anytime anywhere online for $100 as claimed (maybe you mistaken it for a studio unit price). When you expressed that you wasn’t satisfied with what we offered, only then we suggested that we (not you) find you accommodation elsewhere. Also the lady that you mentioned weren’t happy with us is unfounded as she even came back to thank us for finding them an appropriate alternate accommodation.

Sincerely,
Rhose and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

London, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is an older motel, it is clean but could use some updating. We had booked a studio room with hot tub but were disapppointed to find the tub was a concrete bowl and was not appealing. The beds were way too soft. There was a lot of noise from the pipes that provide thermal water to the hot tubs. We wanted to do laundry but all machines except one dryer were out of service in the guest laundryroom. However, the location is within walking distance to the city centre and shopping mall. This was the only motel on our journey where we had to pay the full amount on check-in.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea4Me13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

One of the hot pools was out of action during our stay in February and the other was dirty. The outdoor pool was good, but its surrounding overgrown and untidy. The road noise was too much for us - but otherwise it was very central and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Six on Union
Six on Union
#51 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#86 of 93 in Rotorua
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Glow Motel
Golden Glow Motel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Property: Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing