We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I would not stay here again. Badly in need of updating the rooms (beds, furniture, appliances, décor etc). After checking in and paying for our four night stay upfront before viewing our room
, I wish I had only paid for the one night, and gone elsewhere the next morning. First night, woke up with a bad back, slept like a 'banana'.. mattress was sunken in the middle, springs were flat (without someone lying on them) and I would say are definitely way overdue to be replaced!! I thought I might swap for another mattress in the unit, but found they were all in the same bad condition. Pillows (or the linen on them) were what seemed clean, but they didn't smell very good. The TV was old and small, picture wasn't very clear and the flimsy table that the TV sat on was wobbly, too narrow and unsafe for any small children in the unit. The bathroom/toilet needed some sort of non-slip matting or non-slip tiles. The shower floor is the same level floor of the bathroom, and with smooth tiles throughout the bathroom, made it incredibly slippery after using the shower and even once it was dried with a towel, still slippery.. another hazard. No extraction fans in the bathroom, so to let the condensation out after a shower (or someone using the toilet), I had to push open the small window above the toilet which I had to stand on the toilet to get to and was hard and stiff to push open. There was a dirty roasting pan in the oven, obviously overlooked by the cleaners. The WiFi is expensive to use. The small section of grassed area in the grounds were untidy and unmown, and the communal pool area was untidy also. The only thing I enjoyed was the hot pool in the unit. The lodge is in a convenient location to town and all amenities, but overall unit/s need a good revamp inside and outside needs a good tidy to smarten up its appearance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for staying at our motel. We believe the unit you are staying is a studio pool unit from your description of it. First of all we apologise for the overlooked pan in the oven and have reprimanded our cleaner. We have been replacing beds in our motel as the need arises and we had some new beds that were ‘too hard’ for some customers. We try to go in between but in the end it is always customer’s preference. Maybe you had the softer ones. The bathroom overall never had complaints for its usage, maybe it is just how each person contents to use it for the way it is designed for (also the studio pool unit is a wheel chair friendly unit and this is why the shower and bathroom floor is the same level, we have bath mats placed in all bathrooms to minimise slippery floors). WIFI is FREE and not sure why you said it is expensive when it is not chargeable. In the last 2 months (due to low season), we had been constantly redecorating the motel and the schedule had not catch up with this particular unit. Yes, our motel has the most convenient location to town, thank you for that, and we also like to stress that we are a budget motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Visiting from the UK, we spent a good few days of our holiday jet lagged, and we weren't prepared for what we faced at this motel. The bedding, in our opinion, hadn't been washed, or if it had, it had been done so very badly. The bedding smelt so vile that we could not put our nose to the pillows and had to sleep with our faces off the pillow. Hairs were in abundance in the bedding also. Windows were drafty, and there was a lingering smell of sulphur in the rooms in the evenings. Radiators also had leaky valves, which in the UK is considered unacceptable to have in commercial accommodation, as well as the regular bombardment of ants in the kitchen, and very drafty and unclosable window in our bathroom. We stayed for 2 nights, and would never stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FedUpWithBadHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuirau Park M, General Manager at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for staying at our motel. We are sad to note that your experience at our motel was not pleasant but we beg to defer on many things you had mentioned in this review. All our beddings are thoroughly washed and dried and are free of hairs and what not. If they would have smelled so bad (we believe this is untrue), you could have easily asked for a change. Windows can be securely closed by way of latch if you find it drafty. Rotorua being a region surrounded by hot pools and geysers, sulphur smell is everywhere and it sometimes gets into the rooms when you open or close the windows and doors, moreover our motel have 2 hot pools located in the building itself. You might have ants if you had leftovers not properly thrown away in a bin, and is not fair to lay this out on the motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have been staying at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge on and off for many, many years (approx 30) and would have to say that my last stay was rather disappointing. We had two rooms (usually three) as we were travelling with a netball team and this is the fourth time that we have stayed at this motel with three different owners. Unfortunately what used to be clean, good basic accommodation is no longer so. While the rooms themselves suit all of our needs size wise and amenity wise there were cobwebs in all the corners of the rooms and mildew on the kitchen and bathroom windows and frames. The childproof gate to the pool no longer locked and the doors to the mineral pools are no longer self closing and childproof.

When we went to book for next year as we have done four times previously I was told that they were unable to take bookings that far in advance and I would have to ring and book in January. I was absolutely gobsmacked as this is how we have done it previously as we play every year in one of the biggest netball tournaments in the country and getting accommodation that ticks all the boxes can be quite difficult. Unfortunately we are now looking for alternative accommodation for next year and will take our approx $1000 elsewhere.

Very disappointing !!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle1410_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a top spot Rotorua is. We stayed one night as part of our North Island road trip and found the little bit extra in fee was worth it as we got our very own private hot pool at the back of our room. We found the proprietor to be very friendly and more than willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool. It costs a few dollars more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great place to join with family and friends. Love the mineral pools and the outdoor heated pool. Not too hot on the unit with pool attached its like one huge clay pot. Not keen on the fold down couch as it is uncomfortable to sleep on. Great stay, for a great price, close to town, perfect for movie lovers as the reading theatre is right across the road. Ruck and maul is just up from the theatre so great for somene who wants to enjoy a cold one in front of a large screen watching your favorite sport

Room Tip: Dont go for the room with the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Te aroha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

An older motel and a bit dated inside. Rather chilly, however an extra heater available. Roomy. Very clean. Very nice linen on bed, therefore warm and comfortable (despite no electric blanket). Hosts most obliging. A good central location for easy walk to shopping and to Kuirau Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raewynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We have used this motel a few times now over the years and it certainly needs a revamp now. The facilities are very tired, eg rotten wood in the bathroom, curtains that only just meet in the bedrooms. There was not much in the way of service for these rooms - no beds made or dishes done - it's nice to have something for the money you pay, not just a roof over your head. Saying that, the location is great, but I'm not sure if we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#87 of 92 in Rotorua
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#29 of 92 in Rotorua
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manhattan Motel
Manhattan Motel
#72 of 92 in Rotorua
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £59 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing