We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value motel but noisy in the mornings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuirau Park Motor Lodge
Ranked #85 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Kuirau was a cheap motel just minutes walk from central Rotorua. It has its own geothermal pools, which were nice to soak in, if you didn't mind the sulphur smell.

The couple who run the place were incrediably friendly and able to help us out with anything we needed. They were really friendly and always around.

The rooms were a bit outdated but still nice. You get what you pay for and for what your paying, outdated rooms are fine. They were quite spacious, which kitchen and everything.

My only problem with the place was the noise. Noise carried, especially in the mornings. We were woken each morning by a car outside at about 6am, sitting out the front, engine idling for at least 20 minutes every morning. Then at around 7am, having gotten back to sleep, a loud and noisy family leaving for the day would wake us again with the slamming of doors, and much shouting across the place.

Other than the noise though, this was a great place to stay and I'd reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becsterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2011

maybe not the classiest joint in town but clean and tidy and central. Stayed for 4 nights and found the place good value for money. We had the large 2 bed apartment and that was comfortable and well fitted out. Could have done with locks on the toilet and bathroom doors but that was probably the only minor complaint. John was very helpful and always had a smile and time for a chat and always happy to give advice and book trips for us. Pool was great and thermal pools hot and relaxing. Got a bit noisy over the weekend but with Ragamuffin going on thats hardly surprising! Would definitely stay there again. Thanks guys, had a great time

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

The motel was very date it and inadequate, the linings look clean but a greyish colour, the room we were allocated was an extension of the property and did not look very good, the thing that I hate the most was a plastic flower arrangement (orange flowers) cover with dust, the access to it was a skinny staircase not suitable for toddlers, the reception attendant was very rude, once in the room we were more than disappointed and decided to leave and find something else, our total stay less than 30 minutes.
We told the person in charged that we were not happy and wanted a refund not of that day but our next night she refuse and even shouted at me.
I recommend to find somewhere else to stay this place is not good value for money, on top of been inadequate for children or coking the management staff does not believe in customer service they are arrogant and rude to said the least.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonof, Owner at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Thank you for your review, We appreciate your partners appology for your behaviour and his comment on how there was nothing wrong with the room. We did offer your partner an up grade to a bigger room at no extra cost but he was sure that you would not like to look at it. We also told your partner that if we managed to sell the apartment we would refund the second night. As for my wife shouting at you im sure you will agree with me that that was not correct. We both hope you and your family enjoyed your stay in Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

More basic than I was led to believe by the motel description. Cooking facilities inadequate- we set the fire alarm off twice just trying to make pancakes for breakfast. Nobody slept well. The "spa bath in private courtyard" was a cold concrete tub ; we followed the instructions but never managed to get it warm enough. No character, and just left with a feeling of disappointment. The two nights were supposed to be something of a treat for the family, but they would rather have stayed in a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at Kuirau Park with 8yr old grandson for a few days. Hard to get him out of the hot outdoor pool. Unit very clean, warm and inviting. We loved the beds, sleeping was no problem after a fun filled day.Private hot tub with bubbles and candles was a must each evening. Tresta and John made us feel very welcome, and was able to answer any query we had about the local area and the many activities available to us. The lodge is very central to town so we were a short walk to cafes and the lake and Kuirau park reserve. Our unit was very quiet and we weren't disturbed by any road traffic at all.
We will be staying here again sometime in the future I'm sure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maddieauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Older style but spotlessly clean, well equipped unit. Great outdoor heated pool, couldn't get the kids out. Friendly service. Road noise not great in one of the bedrooms but the short walk to town compensated for this. We will definitely stay there next time we are in Rotorua

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabeoldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

To put this review in perspective my husband and I were really looking forward to a weekend away in Rotorua, he was doing a race, I was keen for a change of scenery - looking after a newborn and a 2.5 year old. It was vital to our comfort and stay that we had a two bedroom unit - those with young kids know this is no brainer to insure sleep and some enjoyment while away on holiday. We booked this place specifically because we wanted a two bedroom unit. We knew it was in the budget range - the hotel itself is fine for what it is - but the service was out of this world RUDE by the female owner.

When we arrived we were told our unit had flooded, and there was only a one bedroom unit available. When I politely explained why we needed a 2brm both the male and female owners made us feel like over demanding customers, it was inferred that we should be fine in a one bedroom (her grandchildren stay in it!) and also that it was somehow our fault because I had put down 3 guests as staying - not four (didn't include my newborn!) So therefore they didn't need to ring us prior to our arrival and let as know that our room was not what we ordered because 3 can fit in a one bedroom. Customer service 101 - accidents happen - granted - but they could have given us the choice to find alternative accommodation. Never assume!
Although they did try to find alternative accommodation for us once we had arrived at the motel - they refused to pay any difference we might incur - saying a natural disaster is not their fault and they were out of pocket too! When we asked if the one bedroom was cheaper - they said No it was the same price as a 2brm as it was the same size and we could measure the floor space if we wanted to! I have never come across a place that charges the same for one and two bedroom units.
Basically I could go on and on about the bad service at this place, the woman always had to have the last word and practically shouted at me "I don't want to argue" when all I was asking was valid questions. We stayed the first night as we had no choice, our large (you should feel lucky to have it!) one bedroom unit was on the road - loud - and the front door had no internal lock so our son could open it and wander out onto the road. When we mentioned this to the male owner he was helpful and put a chain on the door - but once again we were made to feel OTT about this. We stayed one night as we had to and then legged to The Havana - cheaper and lovely friendly staff..great outdoor hot pool and guess what - they had a chain on the door!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelmum4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonof, Owner at Kuirau Park Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2011

This was a no win situation for all of us. Yes, it was unfortunatefor us all that the 2 bedroom apartment you booked online with us burst a water pipe and flooded the unit. We discovered this at 10.30am on the day of your arrival.This was Easter, a very busy weekend in Rotorua and accommodation well booked out . My wife rang the telephone number you supplied when we discovered the damage straight away but you must have already left and unfortunately, you did not suppy us with your cellphone number when making your online booking. We actually did try to find you and your family an alternative 2 bedroom accommodation without success. As you had only booked for 3, we then had to hope that the apartment we did have available with queen and 2 single beds would maybe be ok till we could do better. Unfortunately you arrived late in the day and we then discovered you also has a baby with you. To be fair to us, we had no way of knowing you had a baby which required its own bedroom, although you describe this as a "no brainer". When you refused to even view the room, we again looked online for you and the only accommodation we found available was a resort at $600. per night for 2 (which doesnt allow children anyway) We still think you were unreasonable expecting us to pay the difference between $150 and $600 per night. At the time, we did charge the same for our 1 & 2 bedroom units as they are similar size. A bit OTT to imply that we asked you to get out a tape measure. We now charge a different rate for our 1 & 2 bedroom apartments, so thank you for that feedback. We were so pleased you managed to find alternative accommodation more to your needs. You failed to mention that we gave your husband a very big discount for the 1 bedroom apartment for the inconveience caused. .
We disagree with your comment that my wife was rude and shouting at you. That is not true. Infact we were trying to be very helpful to you in your excited and upset state, all we were trying to do is get you and your family settled for the night and look at other avenues the next day. it was not a bother to put a child lock on your door for you. Infact it was a pleasure and your request pointed out to us for that we should put these on other apartment doors, thank you. We are glad you enjoyed stay in Rotorua and hope you were relaxed on your return home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
Kowhai and Colonial Motel
#87 of 92 in Rotorua
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ambassador Thermal Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manhattan Motel
Manhattan Motel
#72 of 92 in Rotorua
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Rock Thermal Motel
Red Rock Thermal Motel
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
290 reviews
0.5 mi away
MALFROY motor lodge Rotorua - Accommodation and Mineral Pool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuirau Park Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuirau Park Motor Lodge

Address: Corner Hinemoa/Ranolf Sts., | PO Box 837, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £58 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kuirau Park Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at main road of Rotorua, Our premises is just walking distance away from city focus of shops,restaurants and cinemas. An amazing day can be started from Kuirau Park, the local hot pot situated next to us, including hot springs and mud pools, for exploring the city steeped in Maori history and legend. All guest unit is self-contained with full kitchen and some of them are wheelchair accessible. Free wireless connection and SKY 50+ digital TV are offered. Genuine mineral SPA as well as an outdoor swimming pool gives you opportunity having water fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuirau Park Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuirau Park Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing