We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small but clean & cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astray Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“small but clean & cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We took a family one bedroom, only NZD95 per night. Although the room is small, it is clean and cosy, The ensuite bathroom is big though. The owners are very helpful especially when our windscreen was frosted and discount voucher for Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland is available. Recommended to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgeePei Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    84
    28
    12
    10
See reviews for
25
58
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great location close to the centre of Rotovegas, rooms clean, single room was just that, quite small. Bathrooms nicely kept but still quite small. Noise between upstairs and down was quite noticeable, also between rooms so a difficult sleep but good amenities. Overall not bad...

Room Tip: Go for upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We have stayed in both the Backpacker rooms and Motel Units and we find both great value for money.Rooms are fully made up, very modern and super clean. Location is perfect for getting around Rotorua. The bus stop is on the doorstep and these buses can get you to all the main attractions Rotorua has to offer. The best thing about this place is the owners. Frank and Sue will help you with anything and have great knowledge of the area. They also do really good internet. Fast/ Reliable and really cheap at only $5 for 3hours! We will definatley recommend this place to friends and will be back the next time we are in Rotorua.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This place is lovely, the rooms are spotless and very nicely decorated. The beds are the comfiest we've had in a long time! The owners are so sweet and helpful and they know a lot about the area! The internet is fast, there is parking onsite, and our room even had a cute little shared balcony. Another plus was having an oven in the kitchen which has been quite rare throughout the other hostels we have stayed in. would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
155 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

Was here for 2 nights and all whas great, helpful staff, laundryroom and parking right outside the rooms. I would stay again if i come to Rotorua again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micke80_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

we booked this as a result of a last minute couple of days away with overseas visitors. We wanted cheap and somewhere that could accommodate their family of 5. We were very impressed with what we got. The rooms were clean, modern, extremely compact but designed in a way that utilized all the space.we had family units that came with cooking facilities and the kids even got their own room. No need for a designated driver - your in the city so its an easy walk to dinner. The hosts are lovely.

Room Tip: Travelling with the family - ask for air conditioned room in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyinghi_auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed in the dorm with 4 beds but Frank the owner let us had our room with only three of us. The room was very small that we had to stay in bed when we got into the room. Only one person could move around. anyway, the location is right in Rotorua town and it can be reached to the lake and other attractions easily. Plus, the parking space is provided without any cost. Frank was a nice and friendly person. He provides lots of information about Rotorua and other towns clearly. We surely stay at this motel again next time when we go to Rotorua but we will stay in a bigger room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NuiSethapun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.1 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#10 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Property: Astray Motel
Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing