We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, good service and value for money in central Rotorua”
Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astray Motel
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our hosts were helpful, friendly and gave us great suggestions for activities in walking distance of the motel. Actually had off street parking in central Rotorua. Good security. Accommodation is compact but clean, tidy and free wi fi. TV in the rooms. Easy to book online. We had a great stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Astray Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked to stay in the motel for 3 nights. We were late driving down from Auckland due to work commitments so we rang the motel to inform them that we will be checking in later than expected. The motel manager was very rude. We were informed that the reception closes strictly at 9pm and they will NOT leave the keys for us or refund the booking. We were told to look for somewhere else to stay for the night and but they will still be charging us for the room.

The booking website only mentioned to inform the hotel about late arrivals, which we did. When I told the manager that we did ring in advance I was told that although they mention on the website to call them, they don't have to be flexible and the outcome would have been the same no matter how early or late we would have called.

If we would have arrived late, even minutes after the reception closed, without calling them we would have to sleep in our car as they would not have let us into the hotel. But still charge us the full amount for the room.

As a result we were unable to go down to Rorotua that night and had to find alternative, now more expensive last minute hotels. Very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Auckland101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Astray is a cheap BBH accommodation in the center of Rotorua. Our host, Frank, was a nice Danish guy who helped us out whenever we asked him something. We stayed in a 4 bed share room with (2 bunk beds) and it was a little cramped, but clean. The showers were clean and a little small as well and the kitchen is clean, but again, not spacious. Also the kitchen is not a cosy communal area, it's just functional. Bars and eateries and the I-Site are about a 5 to 10 minute walk away, as well as the mud pools and geothermal area's in the parks, be it in the other direction.
If you want to stay in Rotorua for a while I would suggest you stay somewhere else, because there wasn't a lot of interaction between guests. Maybe this was because it is a motel as well, I'm not sure. But if you just want to stay for two nights, as we did, it is definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

For budget accommodation this has to be one of the best. It is central city with adequate parking. Whilst the room was small it was comfortable and clean. The hosts were friendly and helpful. The unit was also unexpectedly very quiet. I would be happy to recommend and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonaans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Astray is certainly budget accomodation but first class in its field. It is ideally situated in the centre of Rotorua and the rooms, although small, are clean and comfortable. Frank and Sue are very welcoming hosts and the tourist information dispensed by the former is worth the stay alone. We had an excellent two days in Rotorua on his advice and would have no hesitation in staying at the Astray in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsgothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have spent one night here and as a place for one night it was ok. We had an ensuite room and It was located in the first floor. The place was clean however room was very small.
The motel is located directly in the center and Is easy to find when you drive to town and from there IT is also easy to walk around. I had the impresjonistów though that Rotorua's city center is extremelly quiet even in the early evening.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed there for 5 nights. The first night I spent in room 12 which faces the evening sun and the room was quite hot. I asked Sue at reception to change a room and she was happy to put me in an airconned room on the opposite side of the building. The rooms are small but very clean, newly designed and well equipped. Bed was Very comfy and reception staff was very helpful. Great location, close to town centre but still very quiet.Overall a very enjoyable stay and will be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 12 if in middle of summer as quite steamy.Ask for an airconned room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#28 of 92 in Rotorua
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £26 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing