We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay at Astray”
Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astray Motel
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay at Astray”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

The bed was most comfortable, the room a little small, the German roommates were devoid of personality, not the fault of Astray of course! The showers and toilets were nearby and very clean, a little small but functional. Decent amount of wifi was available and very fast. A lot of wife available free locally too. Kitchen had only a small cooking area and also was the dining / lounge room so seats could have been more comfortable. Hosts were quite informative about the area. Central location

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    85
    30
    12
    10
See reviews for
26
59
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good location, clean, safe, with helpful staff. Would highly recommend this as a backpackers or as a motel (good parking). There was a good kitchen with a nice balcony. The staff were most helpful, and the room was really comfortable. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SugarMountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Worst customer service I have ever known.
Beginning of our trip. Called the owner in 2hrs advance to say we will be 10-20min late to check-in.
Refusal to wait 10-20mins. He told me you will lose your booking with a not so great attitude. I asked in a very polite manner if there can be some sort of way to pass us key or wait. He had a bad attitude and hang up. We called again at asking with a good tone. He hang up on us.

I would say this place is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anderson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Friendly reception, clean room and facilities and very central to town and tourist activities. I basically checked in, went to shower and go to bed. Not too much noise during the night but the washbasin against my bedroom wall could be moved to be next to the toilet wall.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best deal in Rotorua I would say. Thanks to the helpers, the hostel was ZUPER CLEAN, there's a few toilets and bathrooms in the dorms so people are not fighting with each other :) I was very surprised that for their double/family rooms are attached with a small kitchen and bathroom with TV, magazines and a small cocktail table. That was pretty much like a hotel already!

They have a VERY SMALL dorm/single room where you can't even fully opened the door, and the only places to put your luggage is to put it under the bunk beds. But I can assured you it's comfortable and warm enough even during winter! They provided good quality of duvets and blankets even it's just a dorm room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed 1 night in a double room with shared bathroom. Room was small with just enough space for bed and shelves, but that was to be expected at the price. It was clean and the bed was good. Had free wifi but had to go outside the room to use it, fair enough. Great location to get a good look at central Rotorua, close to the Tamaki Maori village pick up office which was our reason for being there. Good service.

N.B: Rotorua generally smells of really bad rotten eggs because of the geothermal activity - not that you should let that put you off going, because it's a really lovely place to visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in budget single room. It was tiny but very clean and has the functional shelf; window for natural lights. The bed is so comfortable (it was elevated so you can keep your luggage underneath). What might be a good addition for the room is a mirror (I had to constantly go out the sink area for that). The common facilities such as kitchen, dining area, & shower are functional, not overly special. What is so special for me is Sue, the host. On my arrival our bus was delayed; I called her up (knowing the strict schedule for check in) and she kindly waited for me and two other guests I think for 30-45 min. She also helped to cancel my hotel pick-up arrangement when she knew about my impromptu visit to Skyline/Gondola before my Mitai Village performance and made sure I was driven back to the hotel. Try to stay at Astray when you’re in Rotorua, highly recommended!

Room Tip: There is a nice café some steps away that serves nice breakfast and all kinds of pastries if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 57 in Rotorua
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Property: Astray Motel
Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing