We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astray Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$151
US$123
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleveland Thermal Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
VR Rotorua Lake Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$147
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$101
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
70
93
36
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
93
36
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssingle roomcommon kitchenbooked a private roombudget accommodationtwo nightsrooms are smallwifi worked wellbunk bedsfew minutes walkoff street parkingbooking activitiescentral locationfriendly receptionfresh towelssmall fridgeinformation centrecooking facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The bed was most comfortable, the room a little small, the German roommates were devoid of personality, not the fault of Astray of course! The showers and toilets were nearby and very clean, a little small but functional. Decent amount of wifi was available and very fast. A lot of wife available free locally too. Kitchen had only a small cooking area and also was the dining / lounge room so seats could have been more comfortable. Hosts were quite informative about the area. Central location

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank NualaOSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Good location, clean, safe, with helpful staff. Would highly recommend this as a backpackers or as a motel (good parking). There was a good kitchen with a nice balcony. The staff were most helpful, and the room was really comfortable. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SugarMountain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Worst customer service I have ever known.
Beginning of our trip. Called the owner in 2hrs advance to say we will be 10-20min late to check-in.
Refusal to wait 10-20mins. He told me you will lose your booking with a not so great attitude. I asked in a very polite manner if there can be some sort of way to pass us key or wait. He had a bad attitude and hang up. We called again at asking with a good tone. He hang up on us.

I would say this place is the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Anderson K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Friendly reception, clean room and facilities and very central to town and tourist activities. I basically checked in, went to shower and go to bed. Not too much noise during the night but the washbasin against my bedroom wall could be moved to be next to the toilet wall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The best deal in Rotorua I would say. Thanks to the helpers, the hostel was ZUPER CLEAN, there's a few toilets and bathrooms in the dorms so people are not fighting with each other :) I was very surprised that for their double/family rooms are attached with a small kitchen and bathroom with TV, magazines and a small cocktail table. That was pretty much like a hotel already!

They have a VERY SMALL dorm/single room where you can't even fully opened the door, and the only places to put your luggage is to put it under the bunk beds. But I can assured you it's comfortable and warm enough even during winter! They provided good quality of duvets and blankets even it's just a dorm room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews