We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tidy place”
Review of Astray Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astray Motel
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a private room and found the backpackers/motel to be of good standard. The staff were efficient and helped us organize some local tours. The communal kitchen was clean and had all the utensils for meals. Location was good not to far from supermarket.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJJholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, 2 bedroom studio come with one double bed and one bunk bed which can fit 4 adults, room is without door which is less privacy, it attached with a bathroom and kitchen, towel and basic toiletries is provided. walking distance to Pak'nsave supermarket, Mcdonal (10mins), eat street (5min), rotorua museum (10 min), i-site and intercity bus stop 10min. Bus stop infront of the motel have direct bus service to Tepuai, Rambow spring, Gondola, agrodome, airport ect. very good location.

One thing not good is receiption is not 24hr. One of the night was out of water supply, we have to use our international phone to call the owner... extra expenses ^_^
Beside that, after check-out, we are not allowed to store our badpack at the hotel... end up we have to store our bag at I-site for few hours which cost us NZ$5-8/piece (small bag pack)

Overall we still enjoy our stayed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liawht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Spent a week traveling around the north island. Stayed 1 night in astray. Room was small and basic but cheap so did the job. Beds are raised for suitcase storage under Neath. Twin beds separated by microwave and fridge. Bathroom in behind. Wifi available. You get 200mb free or need to pay for more. Free wife available around the corner at the tourist info centre

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I booked a room on the internet thinking that as this was described as a motel and backpackers it would have better facilities than a basic backpackers and the photos on line seemed to indicate reasonable rooms. How wrong can you be? On arrival we found that the twin room with ensuite was as small as it could possibly be to fit 2 small single beds and nothing else - nowhere to sit, barely space for 2 people to get past each other. And at a price for which one could get a good motel room with sitting and dining space and cooking facilities. The duty manager was good and did her best to offer an alternative but we just felt the whole thing was overpriced and too cramped. We walked out and did not stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Thank IIK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in a single room for a couple of nights last December. Very clean hostel, small rooms but modern, good facilities (TV room, outside space, communal bathrooms very close to the rooms), central location and lovely friendly welcome. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank wanderlust_fernweh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Seemed okay at first - small rooms, clean, decent kitchen, right price and good location and parking. But my bf woke during the night to find a bug and bite. In the morning we found blood on the sheet and another (the same?) bed bug. To be expected in a busy, cheap place perhaps but please be aware and perhaps bring your sleeping bags!

Room Tip: We were on the second level in the "7"s, avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastalgirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the smallest rooms we've ever seen. The place is centrally located and is clean but doesn't offer anything beyond that. They wouldn't let us store our bags while we waited for our bus and the kitchen area is not big enough to accommodate all of the guests. It's one of the cheapest places to stay in Rotorua but don't expect much.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fausto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Spa Lodge
Spa Lodge
#12 of 58 in Rotorua
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rotorua Downtown Backpackers
0.2 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#10 of 58 in Rotorua
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astray Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astray Motel

Address: 1198 - 1204 Pukuatua Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £33 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astray Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rotorua Motel ASTRAY is a Quality budget accommodation at competitive prices in central Rotorua. We have off street parking, Freeview TV, Free WiFi. Common-room, kitchen & laundry. Close enough to walk to Rotorua's many restaurants, bars and cafes, but far enough away to enjoy a good night's sleep. Astray is an easy walk from thermal areas, hot pools, Rotorua's lake-front, i-site (information centre) and bus stop for intercity buses. Rotorua city buses and shuttles stop right outside the door. We know all the "must do" activities in Rotorua and we can book you in. Our motel accommodation in double studios, twin studios, and 1 & 2 bedroom studios. All with ensuite bathroom, Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We also offer a wide range of budget accommodation: 4-bed bunkrooms, 2-bed bunkroom, budget doubles and budget single. All budget rooms come with shared facilities. Rotorua Motel ASTRAY look forward to hosting you in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astray Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing