We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly good!”
Review of Mokoia Restaurant

Mokoia Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 225 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$80
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mokoia Restaurant is a definitive fine dining experience featuring creative Pacific Rim cuisine using fresh and flavoursome local ingredients. The restaurant specializes in healthy gourmet cuisine using unique indigenous foods and herbs. Executive Chef Ervin Y Garde has created a menu that he feels embraces the essence of contemporary New Zealand culture. Join us for breakfast, high teas, lunch and dinner, enjoy freshly squeezed beverages from our fresh juice bar and experience first class hospitality in a positively breath-taking lakefront location.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived the hotel late that night and already planned to try this restaurant.

There are lots of choices for entrees and main courses which is hard to decide what to try...luckily they got a "three dishes for two people" plan that we could order three entrees and main courses with lighter portion of each.

The food are unexpectedly good! My boyfriend and I have been to lots of five stars hotel restaurant but no place could compare to the food in here. We love the food in here very much.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeiIKoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    37
    22
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“interesting way to dine”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Yes it is pricey, but this is high quality dining and the opportunity to have a selection of dishes and tastes for our three courses meant we actually got to try 6 different flavours using there shared platter system - since we were only two this really meant we had an interesting dining experience. We rated the deliciously succulent quail entree, the perfectly cooked rare fillet steak and the avocado icecream as our favourites. Service was excellent and despite the fact there was a large party present dominating the room, the food delivery was perfectly timed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very disapointed”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My sister and I took our parents there for their birthday. Looking forward to an amazing night for a special occasion. We caught a taxi there and back from our hotel in Rotorua, only to be told at the end of the evening by the waitress they offer a free shuttle to anywhere in rotorua. (that would have been nice to know when we made the reservation) Service was crap!! We were waiting for ages when we arrived to be offered wine. Starters and Entrées were amazing, mains were average. I had the beef which was great, but mum got the duck and dad the lamb both were disappointed. For the money we paid we expected outstanding food. The restaurant was really dark so it made it hard to see what was actually on your place. The place had no ambience and was so quiet it felt a bit sterile. When we went to pay we realised we have been over charged. Instead of two glasses of Rose, my sister ordered we were charged for two bottles. Luckily we saw this before we left.
So over all a disappointing visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Excellent food at a price.”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Mokoia Restaurant at Rotorua was an excellent restaurant with excellent food at a price. The meat dishes (rack of lamb and beef steak) were reasonable in portions but the soup were so little, very little for the price you pay. Really NOT WORTH your money.
As it was winter, we asked the waiter to light up the fireplace to keep warm and was told there were no more gas for the fire. To think this is a posh restaurant and they don't have gas to light up the fireplace??? WHAT A SHAME ! To the management, please take note.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank magbillSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“omg omg omg Mokia you did it again”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

i couldnt stop saying how YUMMY the food here is
it absolutally was to die for
can say enough good things abouth this restaurant
a little slow?
who cares they were super busy!
gotta love the ice cream gelato XD

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mokoia Restaurant also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Mokoia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing